Eight-try Leinster thump Zebre

Date published: February 12 2016

Leinster produced a masterclass of attacking rugby on Friday as they demolished Zebre, running out 52-0 winners in their PRO12 clash.

The Irish side dominated the first-half from start to finish. They scored four tries through Hayden Triggs, Isa Nacewa, Luke McGrath and Adam Byrne. Nacewa also kicked three conversions, with Zebre unable to register a score in the first 40 minutes.

The Leinster dominance continued after the break. They scored a further four tries through Jordi Murphy, Sean Cronin, Gary Ringrose and youngster Cian Kelleher.

With Zebre sitting second from bottom in the PRO12 table, most fans expecting an easy win for the home side. Despite 13 Leinster players being name in the Ireland 23 that tackles France on Saturday, the hosts welcomed back Cian Healy and Mike Ross into the side after spells on the sideline through injury.

Just seven minutes in, Triggs scored his first try for Leinster since joining them in the summer.

After converting Triggs' try, Leinster captain Nacewa was quick to cross the line for his own try a few minutes later.

The hosts continued to dominate and were rewarded when early replacement McGrath peeled off the back of a Leinster driving maul to touch down five minutes before half-time.

Leinster were far from done in the first 40 and had the bonus point secured before the break, young winger Byrne crossing for his first senior try.

It was more of the same after half-time, with Leinster continuing their dominance. Their fifth try came just before the hour mark when Murphy dotted down.

Two quick-fire tries from Cronin and Ringrose took the home side over 40 points on the night and the rout was completed when Kelleher broke through the Zebre defensive line to cross for his first senior try to take Leinster over the half century mark.

The emphatic win sees Leinster gain ground on their rivals with a game still in hand over the teams around them.

The scorers:

For Leinster:
Tries: Triggs, Nacewa, McGrath, Byrne, Murphy, Cronin, Ringrose, Kelleher
Con: Nacewa 3, Marsh 3

Leinster: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Adam Byrne, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Ben Te'o, 11 Isa Nacewa (c), 10 Cathal Marsh, 9 Isaac Boss, 8 Jordi Murphy, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Dominic Ryan, 5 Hayden Triggs, 4 Ross Molony, 3 Mike Ross, 2 James Tracy, 1 Cian Healy
Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Peter Dooley, 18 Michael Bent, 19 Tom Denton, 20 Dan Leavy, 21 Luke McGrath, 22 Noel Reid, 23 Cian Kelleher

Zebre: 15 Ulrich Beyers, 14 Dion Berryman, 13 Tommaso Boni, 12 Matteo Pratichetti, 11 Kayle Van Zyl, 10 Maicol Azzolini, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Jean Cook, 7 Johan Meyer, 6 Emiliano Caffini, 5 Marco Bortolami (c), 4 Gideon Koegelenberg, 3 Guillermo Roan, 2 Oliviero Fabiani, 1 Bruno Postiglioni
Replacements: 16 Emiliano Coria, 17 Andrea De Marchi, 18 Pietro Ceccarelli, 19 Federico Ruzza, 20 Filippo Cristiano, 21 Giulio Toniolatti, 22 Mils Muliaina, 23 Abou Souare

Referee: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Leo Colgan (Ireland), Mark Connolly (Ireland)
TMO: John Cole (Ireland)