Dubai to kick-off World Sevens Series

Date published: June 30 2015

World Rugby has announced the full schedule of 10 cities that will host a round of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series for the next four years.

New destinations on the World Sevens Series will be Sydney, Cape Town, Vancouver, Singapore and Paris, expanding rugby's reach around the globe. 

The 2015/16 World Series will kick-off after Rugby World Cup 2015, enabling the best 15s players to participate across the entire series ahead of the Olympics.

Commenting on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens World Series schedule, World Rugby Chief Executive Brett Gosper said: "Rugby sevens is experiencing record attendance, broadcast and commercial growth and is rapidly becoming a major driver of revenue for World Rugby to reinvest in the game.

"This schedule represents an exciting combination for World Rugby and one which we think will enable the sport to reach developing rugby markets, and therefore contribute to the continued growth of the game and its character-building values worldwide. It is great for players, great for fans and great for the ongoing prosperity and development of rugby sevens worldwide."

The news comes alongside a significant boost for the sport as a new four-year contract with HSBC has been signed.

2015-16 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series schedule

Round 1: Dubai: 4-5 December
Round 2: Cape Town: 12-13 December
Round 3: Wellington: 30-31 January
Round 4: Sydney: 6-7 February
Round 5: Las Vegas: 4-6 March
Round 6: Vancouver: 12-13 March
Round 7: Hong Kong: 8-10 April
Round 8: Singapore: 16-17 April
Round 9: Paris: 14-15 May
Round 10: London: 20-22 May