Dubai Sevens: Day One Wrap

Date published: December 5 2014

Fiji, New Zealand, Australia and South Africa finished top of their pools World Sevens Series in Dubai on Friday.

Scotland joined the top seeds in the Cup quarter finals at the end of an enthralling day of action in round two of the Sevens World Series.

Having beaten Gold Coast runners-up Samoa in their opening pool match 21-14 their 42-0 win over Japan ensured they reached the last eight for the first time since Glasgow and will play Australia who beat England in the final match of the day 12-5 thanks to tries from Pama Fou and Allan Fa’alava’au.

Defending Dubai champions and current series leaders Fiji impressed to top their pool by beating France, Brazil and Argentina, maintaining a 100% record alongside South Africa, Australia and New Zealand and will face Wales on day two at 7he Sevens Stadium in search of back-to-back victories.

The All Blacks Sevens were back to their scintillating best, beating Japan, Scotland and Samoa and conceding no points in the process to set up a repeat of the Gold Coast quarter final, which they lost, with England while Neil Powell’s Blitzboks await Argentina with all-important Series points available on day two as the road to Rio continues.

Cup quarterfinals:
Fiji v Wales
Australia v Scotland
South Africa v Argentina
New Zealand v England

Bowl quarterfinals:
France v Canada
USA v Japan
Portugal v Brazil
Samoa v Kenya


Pool A (Fiji, Argentina, France, Brazil)

Fiji 54-7 France
Argentina 17-5 Brazil
Fiji 36-5 Brazil
Argentina 26-21 France
France 24-14 Brazil
Fiji 33-21 Argentina

Pool B (Samoa, New Zealand, Scotland, Japan)

Samoa 14-21 Scotland
New Zealand 36-0 Japan
Samoa 38-12 Japan
New Zealand 43-0 Scotland
Scotland 47-0 Japan
Samoa 0-41 New Zealand

Pool C (England, Australia, USA, Kenya)

England 19-10 USA
Australia 29-12 Kenya
England 38-0 Kenya
Australia 26-10 USA
USA 26-17 Kenya
England 5-12 Australia

Pool D (South Africa, Wales, Portugal, Canada)

South Africa 36-0 Portugal
Wales 14-19 Canada
South Africa 24-12 Canada
Wales 26-21 Portugal
Portugal 26-7 Canada
South Africa 12-5 Wales