Du Preez and Esterhuizen cited

Date published: June 14 2015

Stormers full-back Robert du Preez and Sharks centre Andre Esterhuizen were cited for foul play after Saturday's clash in Durban.

Du Preez and Esterhuizen are alleged to have contravened Law 10.4 (j) Lifting Tackle and their citings will be considered in the first instance by SANZAR Duty Judicial Officer Nigel Hampton.

Esterhuizen's incident occurred in the 10th minute and Du Preez's in the 76th minute of the Super Rugby match between the Sharks and Stormers at Kings Park.

The referee for the match, Glen Jackson, issued yellow cards for both incidents. Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion that both incidents had met the red card threshold for foul play.

All SANZAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to a Duty Judicial Officer hearing to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the DJO.