Dragons nil Zebre

Date published: September 11 2015

Ed Jackson scored the only try as Dragons battled to a 13-0 win over Zebre in Friday's Pro 12 clash at Rodney Parade.

It was a match where Newport were aiming for a bonus-point win, but it ended in slight disappointment as they could only manage one try which was scored by new signing and Man of the Match Jackson. 

Jason Tovey added the rest with two penalties and a conversion in what was a low-scoring game. All the points came in the first half as Newport dominated the first 40 minutes. 

Tovey opened the account following some early pressure from the Welsh side after 11 minutes. His penalty was easily converted and another soon followed, but the Dragons would have been disappointed to not be further ahead after 25 minutes. 

Then things got worse for Zebre as captain George Biagi was shown a yellow card for collapsing the maul just short of their own goal line. 

Tovey kicked the resulting penalty into touch. From the lineout, last week's man of the match Jackson ripped the ball from a strong driving maul by the Dragons and touched down for the game's only try, which was successfully converted by Tovey. 

Ulrich Beyers did have two chances to make the deficit smaller before the break, the first of which was right in front of the posts but, to the shock of everyone at Rodney Parade, he kicked the ball wide. 

The second half was a very scrappy affair that was littered with errors from both sides as the rain hammered down in South Wales. 

There was not much entertainment in terms of goal line action as the ball was mainly played in the midfield, although Zebre produced a better performance than the team that lost to Cardiff last week. 

But despite another yellow card for Zebre number eight Dries van Schalkwyk, Newport could not add to their lead and they ran out 13-0 winners in their first home game of the season.

The scorers:

For Dragons:
Try: Jackson
Con: Tovey
Pens: Tovey 2

For Zebre:
Yellow cards: Biagi, Van Schalkwyk

Dragons: 15 Tom Prydie, 14 Ashton Hewitt, 13 Tyler Morgan, 12 Adam Warren, 11 Nick Scott, 10 Jason Tovey, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Ed Jackson, 7 Nic Cudd, 6 Lewis Evans, 5 Rynard Landman, 4 Cory Hill, 3 Brok Harris, 2 T Rhys Thomas, 1 Boris Stankovich

Replacements: 16 Hugh Gustafson, 17 Phil Price, 18 Shaun Knight, 19 James Thomas, 20 James Benjamin, 21 Charlie Davies, 22 Dorian Jones, 23  Carl Meyer

Zebre: 15 Dion Berryman, 14 Gabriele Di Giulio, 13 Tommaso Castello, 12 Matteo Pratichetti, 11 Michele Visentin, 10 Ulrich Beyers, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Andries Van Schalkwyk, 7 Maxime Mbandà, 6 Paul Derbyshire, 5 George Biagi (c), 4 Marco Bortolami, 3 Pietro Ceccarelli, 2 Tommaso D'Apice, 1 Bruno Postiglioni
Replacements: 16 Oliviero Fabiani, 17 Andrea De Marchi, 18 Emiliano Coria, 19 Michele Sutto, 20 Emiliano Caffini, 21 Fabio Semenzato, 22 Mattia Bellini, 23 Maicol Azzolini

Venue: Rodney Parade, Newport
Referee: Lloyd Linton (Scotland)
Assistant Referees: Sean Brickell, Simon Rees (both Wales)
TMO: Gareth Simmonds (Wales)