Dragons get revenge on Edinburgh

Date published: May 8 2015

Newport Gwent Dragons gained revenge over Edinburgh for their Challenge Cup semi-final loss with a 19-5 win in the Pro12.

The Welsh side were the only team to score in the first half with three penalties, two for Jason Tovey and one for Tom Prydie.

Edinburgh failed to get any points on the board in the first 40 in difficult conditions, meaning the visitors were trailing 9-0 at half-time.

The home side scored a try courtesy of Hugh Gustafson and there was another penalty in the second half for Tovey to win them the game.

Edinburgh did reply with a try of their own for Stuart McInally but by then the score was out of their reach and they lost 19-5.

The Dragons claimed the first points after four minutes with the first penalty for Tovey. Newport's fly-half added a second before Prydie scored his penalty on 40 minutes as the Dragons looked for revenge after being battered by Edinburgh at Murrayfield in the semi-final of the Challenge Cup.

With no reply from Edinburgh, the home side went into half time in the lead 9-0.

The second half got off to an even worse start for Edinburgh, when WP Nel was sent to the sin bin on 48 minutes. With the extra man advantage, Newport's Gustafson was able to barge his way over the line to score the try and put his team 16 points ahead.

On 76 minutes, Edinburgh were awarded a line-out five metres from Newport's line and McInally managed to find the try line but it was already too late for the visitors.

Newport finished the game off with another penalty for Tovey to win the game 19-5.

The scorers:

For Dragons:
Tries: Gustafson
Cons: Tovey
Pens: Tovey 3, Prydie

For Edinburgh:

Tries: McInally

Yellow Card: Nel

Dragons: 15 Tom Prydie, 14 Ashton Hewitt, 13 Tyler Morgan, 12 Jack Dixon, 11 Hallam Amos, 10 Jason Tovey, 9 Luc Jones, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Nic Cudd, 6 Nick Crosswell, 5 Rynard Landman, 4 Cory Hill, 3 Brok Harris, 2 T. Rhys Thomas (c), 1 Phil Price.
Replacements: 16 Hugh Gustafson, 17 Lloyd Fairbrother, 18 Dan Way, 19 James Thomas, 20 Ollie Griffiths, 21 Richie Rees, 22 Dorian Jones, 23 Geraint Rhys Jones.

Edinburgh: 15 Jack Cuthbert, 14 Dougie Fife, 13 Sam Beard, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Phil Burleigh, 9 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 8 Cornell Du Preez, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 Stuart McInally (c), 5 Ben Toolis, 4 Fraser McKenzie, 3 WP Nel, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Alasdair Dickinson.
Replacements: 16 Neil Cochrane, 17 Rory Sutherland, 18 John Andress, 19 Anton Bresler, 20 Roddy Grant, 21 Nathan Fowles, 22 Tom Heathcote, 23 Tom Brown.

Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Neil Hennessy (Wales), Martyn Lewis (Wales)
TMO: Derek Bevan (Wales)