Daniel to lead Sharks in Currie Cup

Date published: August 1 2016

With their Currie Cup Premier Division campaign scheduled to kick-off this Friday against the Pumas in Nelspruit, Sharks coach Robert du Preez, has announced his squad for the tournament as well as the appointment of back-row Keegan Daniel as captain for the campaign.

Daniel is a stalwart of Sharks rugby and his leadership record is admirable. He has previously captained the Sharks on 58 occasions, which included both Super Rugby and Currie Cup finals, as well as lifting the coveted Currie Cup trophy in 2013.

He initially returned from Japan for this year’s Super Rugby campaign but has committed his immediate future to the team by signing a new three-year contract.

Commenting on his decision, du Preez said: "Keegan is someone who leads by example and sets the pace not on the playing field, but at training and also off the field.  

"We have a young and enthusiastic squad and his experience and strong leadership will certainly provide the necessary mentorship, guidance and calming influence within our team environment."

The Sharks Currie Cup Squad:

Forwards: Chiliboy Ralepelle, Dale Chadwick, Daniel du Preez, Etienne Oosthuizen, Franco Marais, Francois Kleinhans, Hyron Andrews, JC Astle, Jean Deysel, Jean Droste, Jean-Luc du Preez, Johan du Toit, John-Hubert Meyer, Juan Schoeman, Keegan Daniel (c), Khaya Majola, Lourens Adriaanse, Philip van der Walt, Ruan Botha, Stephan Coetzee, Stephan Lewies, Tera Mtembu, Thomas du Toit

Backs: Andre Esterhuizen, Benhard Janse van Rensburg, Curwin Bosch, Garth April, Hanco Venter, Heimar Williams, Lukhanyo Am, Marius Louw, Michael Claassens, Morne Joubert, Neil Maritz, Odwa Ndungane, S’bura Sithole, Sibusiso Nkosi, Khaya Majola, Stefan Ungerer, Lourens Adriaanse, Wandile Mjekevu