Coetzee starts for Western Province

Date published: August 14 2014

Western Province coach Allister Coetzee has made one change to his line-up for Saturday's Currie Cup fixture against the Blue Bulls.

Western Province head coach Allister Coetzee has made one change to his starting line-up for Saturday's Currie Cup fixture against the Blue Bulls.

The tweak sees Stephan Coetzee named in the number two jersey, in his first start at this level, with the injured Tiaan Liebenberg dropping out.

UCT Varsity Cup hooker Neil Rautenbach gets a place on the bench as fellow hooker Scarra Ntubeni suffered an injury setback, tweaking his calf muscle and will be out for at least two weeks.

“Selection was incredibly tough this week, but, thankfully (and mostly), for all the good reasons,” head coach Coetzee told

“Like I said earlier this week, we needed to marry continuity with players coming back and I am comfortable with the selections we have made this week and I have full confidence in each and every player in the team.”

Province opened their 2014 campaign with a bonus-point win against the EP Kings in Port Elizabeth last Friday, whilst the Blue Bulls lost 13-41 to the Golden Lions in Johannesburg.

“What happened last week matters for nothing, for both us and the Bulls,” said Coetzee.

“There is no such thing as a weak Blue Bulls side and you only have to think back to last year's Absa Currie Cup encounter between our two teams when a young Bulls team was a conversion away from beating us.

“We're preparing for a tough encounter against the Bulls, as always, and we're certainly determined to give a good account of ourselves in front of our home fans at DHL Newlands.”

Western Province: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (capt), 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Stephan Coetzee, 1 Alistair Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Ruan Botha, 19 Rynhardt Elstadt, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Jaco Taute.

Date: Saturday, August 16
Kick-off: 14:05 local (13:05 BST, 12:05 GMT)
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant referees: Marius van der Westhuizen, Quinton Immelman
Television match official: Jason Jaftha
Assessor: Keith Hendricks