Chiefs win inaugural Brisbane Tens

Date published: February 12 2017

The Chiefs were crowned champions of the inaugural Brisbane Tens when they beat the Crusaders 12-7 in the final on Sunday.

The Hamilton-based outfit, who beat the Reds and Bulls in the quarter-finals and semi-finals respectively, dedicated their tournament victory to former Chiefs and All Blacks back-row Sione Lauaki who died at the age of 35 on Sunday.

In the final, the Crusaders dominated early on and were rewarded when Andrew Makalio scored the opening try from a driving maul at a line-out inside the Chiefs’ 22.

The Chiefs didn’t take long to respond though and struck back via a Luke Jacobson try which Tim Nanai-Williams converted.

This gave them confidence and they added their second try early in the second half – Taleni Seu crossing the whitewash for a deserved five-pointer which would prove enough to secure them victory.



Chiefs 12-7 Crusaders


Chiefs 26-14 Bulls 14
Crusaders 17-7 Hurricanes 7


Chiefs 12-10 Reds 10
Crusaders 12-7 Wild Knights
Bulls 17-12 Force
Hurricanes 7-5 Highlanders

Final pool matches:

Waratahs 14-12 Rebels
Chiefs 33-5 Wild Knights
Reds 12-5 Samoa
Crusaders 17-12 Blues
Hurricanes 32-0 Toulon 0
Bulls 26-17 Highlanders