Chiefs cruise to win over Quins

Date published: September 28 2014

Power at the set-piece, allied to aggressive play at the breakdown, was enough for Exeter to run out 36-13 winners over Harlequins.

Thomas Waldrom’s try and the accurate boots of Henry Slade and Gareth Steenson helped the Chiefs into a 19-6 lead at the break.

Although Aseli Tikoirotuma responded for the visitors in the second period, the hosts dominated the rest of the half and Jack Yeandle and Slade touched down to give them the victory.

Quins were first on the board with a penalty from Ben Botica but, with the home side looking solid at the set piece, Slade levelled matters with a penalty.

Steenson then gave his side the lead with a three-pointer after Quins had been penalised for holding on.

A charged down kick and a chip ahead from Waldron brought a try for the Exeter number eight, which Steenson duly converted.

Botica hit the upright with a penalty attempt but made no mistake minutes later for 13-6.

With Quins having problems with a rampaging Exeter pack at the break down a penalty apiece from Slade and Steenson closed the half with Exeter ahead 19-6.

Harlequins began the second period brightly and, after a scrum penalty sucked in enough defenders, wing Tikoirotuma had acres of space to coast over. Botica converted for 19-13, but a penalty from Steenson left Quins again needing two scores.

Exeter got over again but, with Jack Nowell yellow-carded for taking Mike Brown out in the air, the try was disallowed and Exeter were down to 14.

Despite the lack of numbers a great cross kick taken on the full and a pass inside brought a try for Yeandle, Steenson having no problem with the conversion.

With Quins now beginning to drop off tackles Slade went over for the third, Steenson slotting the conversion.

The scorers:

For Exeter:
Tries: Waldrom, Yeandle, Slade
Conversions: Steenson 2
Penalties: Slade 2, Steenson 3
Yellow Card: Nowell

For Harlequins:
Try: Tikoirotuma
Conversion: Botica
Penalties: Botica 2

The teams:

Exeter: 15 Phil Dollman, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Sam Hill, 11 Matt Jess, 10 Gareth Steenson, 9 Will Chudley, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Ben White, 6 Dave Ewers, 5 Damian Welch, 4 Mitch Lees, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Jack Yeandle (capt), 1 Ben Moon.
Replacements: 16 Elvis Taione, 17 Carl Rimmer, 18 Moray Low, 19 Don Armand, 20 Kai Horstmann, 21 Pat Phibbs, 22 Ian Whitten, 23 Tom James.

Harlequins: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Marland Yarde, 13 Harry Sloan, 12 Jordan Turner-Hall, 11 Aseli Tikoirotuma, 10 Ben Botica, 9 Danny Care, 8 Nick Easter, 7 Chris Robshaw, 6 Luke Wallace, 5 George Robson, 4 Charlie Matthews, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Dave Ward, 1 Joe Marler (capt).
Replacements: 16 Joe Gray, 17 Mark Lambert, 18 Will Collier, 19 Sam Twomey, 20 Joe Trayfoot, 21 Karl Dickson, 22 Louis Grimoldby, 23 Ollie Lindsay-Hague.

Referee: Andrew Small
Assistant referees: Ashley Rowden, Roger Baileff
Television match official: Geoffrey Warren