Cheetahs change eight for ‘Tahs

Date published: June 3 2015

The Cheetahs have made eight changes to their starting XV for Saturday's clash with the Waratahs at the Free State Stadium in Bloemfontein.

It will be new coach coach Franco Smith's first game in charge following the departure of Naka Drotske.

Up front BG Uys will start as Danie Mienie moves to the bench while in the back row flankers Tienie Burger and Boom Prinsloo swap places on the sides of the scrum. Niell Jordaan will make his Super Rugby debut at number eight.

Shimlas pivot Niel Marais starts at fly-half meaning Joe Pietersen drops to the bench while Sarel Pretorius is back in the starting line-up at scrum-half.

Rayno Benjamin moves up from the bench replacing Michael van der Spuy at inside centre. 

Cornal Hendricks will start on left wing, replacing Raymond Rhule, who has a knee injury while Coenie van Wyk will start as full-back replacing Clayton Blommetjies.

Amongst the replacements, Elandre Hugget will provide back-up at hooker, Willie Britz replaces Carel Greeff while Shaun Venter provides scrum-half cover.

Cheetahs: 15 Coenie van Wyk, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Cornal Hendricks, 10 Niel Marais, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Tienie Burger, 6 Boom Prinsloo,  5 Francois Uys (c), 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 BG Uys.
Replacements: 16 Elandre Hugget, 17 Danie Mienie, 18 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 19 Steven Sykes, 20 Willie Britz, 21 Henco Venter, 22 Shaun Venter, 23 Joe Pietersen

Date: Saturday, June 6
Venue: Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein
Kick-off: 15:00 local (13:00 GMT, 23:00 AEST, 01:00 NZST)
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant referees: Jaco van Heerden; Lourens van der Merwe
TMO: Johan Greeff