Canan Moodie hat-trick helps nine-try Bulls put Benneton to the sword

David Skippers
Canan Moodie Bulls v Leinster URC 2023 - Alamy.jpg

Bulls wing Canan Moodie in action at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria.

A hat-trick from Springboks speedster Canan Moodie helped the Bulls defeat Benetton 56-35 in their United Rugby Championship encounter in Pretoria on Saturday.

In a fast-paced and entertaining match, the Bulls eventually outscored their Italian visitors by nine tries to five with David Kriel (2), Kurtley Arendse, Ruan Nortje, Akker van der Merwe and Johan Grobbelaar also crossing the whitewash while Johan Goosen slotted four conversions and Chris Smith added a penalty.

For Benetton, Onisi Ratave, Gianmarco Lucchesi, Andy Uren, Toa Halafihi and Marco Zanon dotted down, with Rhyno Smith succeeding with five conversions.

Click here for scorers

The Bulls were fastest out of the blocks and opened the scoring as early as the second minute when Moodie ran onto a pass from Embrose Papier, after a lineout on Benetton‘s five-metre line, and burst through two tackles before dotting down.

The home side spent most of the rest of the half camped inside their opponents’ half and held a 19-0 lead by the 20th minute after Arendse and Kriel scored five-pointers in quick succession.

And they secured their bonus point by the 25th minute when their captain, Nortje, rounded off in style after Willie le Roux bamboozled the Benetton defence with some deft footwork in the build-up.

Benetton then had a chance to open their account when Gianmarco Lucchesi made a superb line break inside the Bulls’ 22. However, the Italy hooker opted to take the ball into contact when the better option would have been to offload to Leonardo Marin, who was in the clear on his inside.

Despite that setback, Benetton did not panic and shortly afterwards they opened their account when Ratave crossed the whitewash on the hour mark.

The Bulls did not take long to respond as Moodie cantered in for his second try, in the 36th minute, but Benetton finished the half stronger and were rewarded when Lucchesi crossed the whitewash which meant the home side held a 31-14 lead at the interval.

Graham Rowntree not thinking of play-off permutations after Munster’s bonus-point win at Edinburgh

The visitors began the second half in a similar fashion to how they finished the first when Uren scored his try five minutes after the restart but the Bulls replied with tries from Van der Merwe and Kriel which gave them a 43-21 lead by the 55th minute.

Two minutes later, Moodie sealed his hat-trick after Papier and Kriel combined brilliantly in the build-up but despite trailing by more than 20 points, Benetton did not surrender.

And their efforts were rewarded in the 65th minute when Halafihi went over for their bonus-point try but despite the match drawing to a close, there was still plenty of excitement to come.

In the 72nd minute, Smith added a penalty, which brought up a half-century of points for the Bulls before Zanon added some respectability to the visitors’ score when he crossed for their fifth try.

The home side would have the last laugh, though, and sealed a deserved victory when Grobbelaar crossed for his try in the game’s dying moments.

The result means the Bulls have secured a home fixture in the United Rugby Championship‘s quarter-finals ahead of the last round of matches in a fortnight’s time.

The teams

Bulls: 15 Willie Le Roux, 14 Canan Moodie, 13 David Kriel, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Cameron Hanekom, 7 Elrigh Louw, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje (c), 4 Ruan Vermaak, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Akker van der Merwe, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp
Replacements: 16 Johan Grobbelaar, 17 Simphiwe Matanzima, 18 Francois Klopper, 19 Reinhardt Ludwig, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Sebastian de Klerk

Benetton: 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Ignacio Mendy, 13 Tommaso Menoncello, 12 Ignacio Brex, 11 Onisi Ratave, 10 Leonardo Marin, 9 Andy Uren, 8 Lorenzo Cannone, 7 Sebastian Negri, 6 Alessandro Izekor, 5 Eli Snyman (C), 4 Scott Scrafton, 3 Simone Ferrari, 2 Gianmarco Lucchesi, 1 Thomas Gallo
Replacements: 16 Bautista Bernasconi, 17 Destiny Aminu, 18 Tiziano Pasquali, 19 Edoardo Iachizzi, 20 Toa Halafihi, 21 Alessandro Garbisi, 22 Tomas Albornoz, 23 Marco Zanon

Referee: Hollie Davidson (SRU)
Assistant Referees: Aimee Barrett-Theron (SARU), Cwengile Jadezweni (SARU)
TMO: Mike Adamson (SRU)

READ MORE: Ex-Springbok escapes ban as footage emerges of ‘reckless’ act leading to facial fracture