Canada change six for France

Date published: September 29 2015

Canada boss Kieran Crowley has made six changes to his team for their Pool D clash with France in Milton Keynes on Thursday.

The Canucks were narrowly beaten by Italy on Saturday but go into the clash as big underdogs against a French team that can all but wrap up a quarter-final spot with a win.

With Conor Braid ruled out of the tournament through injury, Nick Blevins starts at inside centre, while Phil Mack comes into the team at scrum-half.

There are changes in the back row where Richard Thorpe and Kyle Gilmour come onto the flanks, and in the second row Brett Beukeboom starts alongside Jamie Cudmore.

Aaron Carpenter is the final new face, starting at hooker with Ray Barkwill dropping down to the bench.

Canada: 15 Matt Evans, 14 Phil Mackenzie, 13 Ciaran Hearn, 12 Nick Blevins, 11 DTH van der Merwe, 10 Nathan Hirayama, 9 Phil Mack, 8 Tyler Ardron (c), 7 Richard Thorpe, 6 Kyle Gilmour, 5 Jamie Cudmore, 4 Brett Beukeboom, 3 Doug Wooldridge, 2 Aaron Carpenter, 1 Hubert Buydens.
Replacements: 16 Ray Barkwill, 17 Djustice Sears-Duru, 18 Andrew Tiedemann, 19 Evan Olmstead, 20 Nanyak Dala, 21 Gordon McRorie, 22 Harry Jones, 23 Conor Trainor.

Date: Thursday, October 1
Venue: Stadium MK, Milton Keynes
Kick-off: 20:00 local
Referee: JP Doyle (England)
Assistant referees: Wayne Barnes (England), Angus Gardner (Australia)
Television match official: Graham Hughes (England)