Bulls change six for Brumbies

Date published: May 26 2015

Bulls coach Frans Ludeke has made six changes to his starting XV for Friday's Super Rugby clash with the Brumbies in Canberra.

There are two changes in the backline to the team that lost to the Chiefs last week as Jurgen Visser starts at full-back ahead of Jesse Kriel, who has been named on the bench for this match, the first of two on Australian soil.

Visser joined the squad on Monday in place of injured Jan Serfontein and with Kriel recovering from a knee contusion, Ludeke opted for the 30 Super Rugby cap full-back to start. This will be a first start for Visser since the opening week in February against the Stormers.

Serfontein has been replaced by Burger Odendaal in the midfield.

In the pack, there is a return for Adriaan Strauss, who was rested last weekend, with Callie Visagie moving to the bench, as well as a first start on tour for Grant Hattingh, who replaces Victor Matfield at lock. Matfield is rested in accordance with the SARU agreement.

Dean Greyling rotates with Trevor Nyakane at loosehead and Arno Botha swaps places with Jacques du Plessis at the side of the scrum in the other change to the pack.

"We are well aware of the threat the Brumbies pose in many positions, so realise that we will have to play to our full potential if we want to succeed in Canberra," said Ludeke.

"The changes in the team are all within the squad set-up. Jurgen has played for us many times and will slot in without ease, while Burger showed his worth earlier in the season.

"We know that we need log points if we want this season to still mean something to us and the team will be going out there determined to achieve what we set out at the beginning of the season."

Bulls: 15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Francois Hougaard, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Pierre Spies (c), 7 Arno Botha, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Dean Greyling.
Replacements: 16 Callie Visagie, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Werner Kruger, 19 Jacques du Plessis, 20 Lappies Labuschagne, 21 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22 Travis Ismaiel, 23 Jesse Kriel.

Date: Friday, May 29
Venue: GIO Stadium, Canberra
Kick-off:  19:40 local (09:40 GMT, 21:40 NZST, 11:40 SAST)
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant referees: Rohan Hoffmann, Ed Martin
TMO: Ian Smith