Brumbies keep the faith

Date published: March 12 2015

Brumbies head coach Stephen Larkham has named an unchanged starting XV for Saturday's clash with the Reds in Brisbane.

Lausii Taliauli maintains his spot on the bench due to an ongoing ear infection which kept Jesse Mogg out of the 23-man squad just before kick-off in last weekend's clash with the Western Force.

It’s the first time Larkham has been blessed with the same starting side three-weeks straight since the start of the 2015 season.

The news of an unchanged side is the second boost the Brumbies have enjoyed this week on back of contract extensions to Wallabies Josh Mann-Rea, Scott Fardy and Sam Carter, who will all face the Reds.

Fly-half Matt Toomua said it was a good opportunity for his side to work on combinations through the first half of the season.

“With the same combinations developing week on week, we’ll certainly start to see continuity and cohesion across the field,” he explained.

“The Reds always present us with one of our biggest challenges each year, particularly when the game is being played in Brisbane in front of their parochial crowd.

“These are the games you look forward to though, there is a great rivalry developing between the Reds and the Brumbies and hopefully we see a bit of that passion and enthusiasm on the pitch this Saturday night.”

The Reds have a disappointing record against the Brumbies in Brisbane, having won just two games there since 1996.

Brumbies: 15 Robbie Coleman, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Christian Lealiifano, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Nic White, 8 Ita Vaea, 7 Jarrad Butler, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Scott Sio.
Replacements: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Ruan Smith, 18 JP Smith, 19 Jordan Smiler, 20 Blake Enever, 21 Michael Dowsett, 22 Lausii Taliauli, 23James Dargaville.

Date: Saturday, March 14
Kick-off: 18.40 local (08.40 GMT, 21.40 NZST, 10.40 SAST)
Venue: Lang Park, Brisbane
Referee: Andrew Lees (Australia)
Assistant referees: Matt O'Brien (Australia), Damien Mitchelmore (Australia)
Television match official: George Ayoub (Australia)