Brok Harris hits 400 senior games whilst Jamie Ritchie and Ellis Jenkins reach centuries

Dylan Coetzee
Stormers front-row Brok Harris looks on.

Stormers front-row Brok Harris looks on.

There’s two matches on the schedule on Friday as Round Six of the United Rugby Championship season kicks off with Edinburgh hosting Benetton and Cardiff facing the Stormers.

Edinburgh v Benetton

Scotland skipper Jamie Ritchie will reach 100 games for Edinburgh on Friday as he starts alongside Luke Crosbie and Connor Boyle in the back-row.

As one of four changes, Ali Price gets his first start for his new team with Matt Currie being handed the 13 shirt.

Hooker Dave Cherry also earns a start as he links up with the experienced WP Nel and Pierre Schoeman in the coalface.

Head coach Sean Everitt is looking for another strong showing.

“It’s set to be another great test tomorrow night and it’s one we’re really excited about,” he said.

“We’ve shown a lot of resilience in recent wins against Connacht and Bulls and we want to keep that momentum going.”

For Benetton, Rhyno Smith returns to start at full-back with the talented Paolo Odogwu and Ignacio Mendy making up an interesting back three.

Jacob Umaga starts with Andy Uren in the half-backs as skipper Michele Lamaro leads the side from the back-row again.

Eli Snyman gets the nod in the second-row as Thomas Gallo returns to loosehead prop.

The teams

Edinburgh: 15 Blair Kinghorn, 14 Wes Goosen, 13 Matt Currie, 12 James Lang, 11 Duhan van der Merwe, 10 Ben Healy, 9 Ali Price, 8 Luke Crosbie, 7 Connor Boyle, 6 Jamie Ritchie, 5 Grant Gilchrist (c), 4 Glen Young, 3 WP Nel, 2 Dave Cherry, 1 Pierre Schoeman
Replacements: 16 Ewan Ashman, 17 Boan Venter, 18 Angus Williams, 19 Marshall Sykes, 20 Tom Dodd, 21 Ben Vellacott, 22 Tim Swiel, 23 Chris Dean

Benetton: 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Paolo Odogwu, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Marco Zanon, 11 Ignacio Mendy, 10 Jacob Umaga, 9 Andy Uren, 8 Lorenzo Cannone, 7 Michele Lamaro (c), 6 Alessandro Izekor, 5 Eli Snyman, 4 Edoardo Iachizzi, 3 Giosué Zilocchi, 2 Giacomo Nicotera, 1 Thomas Gallo
Replacements: 16 Bautista Bernasconi, 17 Mirco Spagnolo, 18 Tiziano Pasquali, 19 Riccardo Favretto, 20 Toa Halafihi, 21 Henry Time-Stowers, 22 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 23 Giacomo Da Re

Venue: Hive Stadium, Edinburgh
Kick-off: 19:35 GMT
Referee: Aimee Barrett-Theron (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Ian Kenny (Scotland), David Sutherland (Scotland)
TMO: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa)

Cardiff v Stormers

Ellis Jenkins will play his 100th game for Cardiff from the flank in an unchanged back-row with Lopeti Timani and Alex Mann for their game against the Stormers.

There are several changes in the pack with Corey Domachowski, Will Davies-King, Seb Davies and Rory Thornton all getting starts.

There are two tweaks in the backline as Ellis Bevan comes in to start as does Willis Halaholo in the centres.

Cardiff boss Matt Sherratt is looking for his side to improve on their draw last week.

“We were disappointed with the draw last week and felt the players deserved more. However, that’s sport and you do not always get what you deserve,” he said.

“Given the manner in which the game finished, the boys have been chomping at the bit to get back on the pitch.”

For the Stormers, Brok Harris leads the side on his milestone 400th senior cap – a remarkable achievement. He is part of a changed front-row with Andre Hugo-Venter and Lee-Marvin Mazibuko starting.

Adre Smith comes into the second-row with Nama Xaba and Marcel Theunissen also getting starts.

Stefan Ungerer gets his first start of the season whilst Clayton Blommetjies and Courtnall Skosan are at full-back and wing respectively.

The teams

Cardiff: 15 Cam Winnett, 14 Harri Millard, 13 Willis Halaholo, 12 Ben Thomas, 11 Mason Grady, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Ellis Bevan, 8 Lopeti Timani, 7 Ellis Jenkins, 6 Alex Mann, 5 Rory Thornton, 4 Seb Davies, 3 Will Davies-King, 2 Liam Belcher (c), 1 Corey Domachowski
Replacements: 16 Evan Lloyd, 17 Rhys Carré, 18 Rhys Litterick, 19 Josh Turnbull, 20 Mackenzie Martin, 21 Jamie Hill, 22 Jacob Beetham, 23 Gabriel Hamer-Webb

Stormers: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Courtnall Skosan, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, 11 Ben Loader, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Marcel Theunissen, 7 Willie Engelbrecht, 6 Nama Xaba, 5 Ruben van Heerden, 4 Adre Smith, 3 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 2 Andre-Hugo Venter, 1 Brok Harris (c)
Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Sti Sithole, 18 Neethling Fouche, 19 Connor Evans, 20 Hendre Stassen, 21 Keke Morabe, 22 Herschel Jantjies, 23 Warrick Gelant

Venue: Cardiff Arms Park, Cardiff
Kick-off: 19:35 GMT
Referee: Hollie Davidson (Scotland)
Assistant Referees: Dewi Phillips (Wales), Carwyn Williams (Wales)
TMO: Andrew McMenemy (Scotland)

READ MORE: Peter O’Mahony sheds light on decision to step down as Munster captain