Brive hammer La Rochelle

Date published: January 30 2016

Gaetan Germian finished with 23 points as Brive won big against visiting La Rochelle on Friday in the Top 14.

The full-back, making his return to the Brive starting XV, kicked seven penalties and a conversion of replacement prop Karlen Asieshvili's late try to wrap up a comfortable victory.

Both teams were put down to 14 men after a scrap in the second half, as Brive's Arnaud Mignardi and La Rochelle's Jone Qovu spent time in the bin.

A scrum penalty against France prop Uini Atonio enabled Germain to add his first penalty after seven minutes, double his tally three minutes later.

The league's top points scorer couldn't miss as he added a third penalty on 15 minutes and after knocking over his fourth effort off the post, La Rochelle finally responded through a penalty from Zach Holmes.

Germain added a fifth three-pointer before Romain Poite went to his pocket, with Brive almost having the final say of the half when Guillaume Namy was stopped short of the try line.

Germain made it six penalties after the break before Julien Audy responded with penalty of his own, in a second half short on chances until Germain added a seventh three-pointer from eight attempts to make it 21-6.

Asieshvili's determined drive as he broke off a maul then eventually ended in a try after confirmation from the TMO with time up on the clock, handing Brive an impressive win.

The scorers: 

For Brive: 
Tries: Asieshvili
Con: Germain
Pens: German 7
Yellow Card: Mignardi

For La Rochelle: 
Pens: Holmes, Audy
Yellow Card: Qovu

Brive: 15 Gaetan Germain, 14 Guillaume Namy, 13 Arnaud Mignardi, 12 Chris Tuatara-Morrison, 11 Benito Masilevu, 10 Mathieu Ugalde, 9 Teddy Iribaren, 8 Sisa Koyamaibole, 7 Dominiko Waqaniburotu, 6 Fabien Sanconnie, 5 Arnaud Mela, 4 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 3 Damien Jourdain, 2 Francois Da Ros, 1 Lucas Pointud
Replacements: 16 Thomas Acquiet, 17 Karlen Asieshvili, 18 Johan Snyman, 19 Poutasi Luafatu, 20 Jean-Baptiste Pejoine, 21 Thomas Laranjeira, 22 Alfi Mafi, 23 Giorgi Jgenti

La Rochelle: 15 Kini Murimurivalu, 14 Gabriel Lacroix, 13 Pierre Aguillon, 12 Levani Botia, 11 Eliott Roudil, 10 Zack Holmes, 9 Julien Audy, 8 Afaesetiti Amosa, 7 Jone Qovu, 6 Kevin Gourdon, 5 Leandro Cedaro, 4 Jason Eaton, 3 Uini Atonio, 2 Hikairo Forbes, 1 Vincent Pelo
Replacements: 16 Maxime Gau, 17 Thomas Synaeghel, 18 Damien Lagrange, 19 Romain Sazy, 20 Enrico Januarie, 21 Jean Pascal Barraque, 22 Benjamin Lapeyre, 23 Gagi Bazadze

Referee: Romain Poite 
Assistant Referees: Thomas Charabas, Patrick Beuriot 
TMO: Mourad Zitouni