Bowe added to Barbarians squad

Date published: November 2 2016

Experienced winger Tommy Bowe is the latest Ulster player to be named in the Barbarians squad for their upcoming November tour.

Bowe will join up with fellow Ulster club-mates Ruan Pienaar and Dan Tuohy for the eagerly anticipated showdown with Fiji at the Kingspan Stadium on Friday 11 November.

The top try scorer in PRO12 history, Bowe boasts an impressive CV that has seen him capped 139 times for Ulster and 67 times for Ireland. At international level Bowe has won three Six Nations titles with Ireland, including the famous Grand Slam in 2009, and was also awarded the Player of the Championship in 2010.

Bowe has represented the British and Irish Lions on two tours, making a indelible scoring impression in South Africa in 2009 and again in Australia four years later.

Barbarians coaches Robbie Deans and Will Greenwood have announced a 28-man squad for their three-game series, which will begin this Saturday, 5 November against South Africa at Wembley. The Baa-baas will then travel to Prague to play the Czech Republic on 8 November, before completing their tour against Fiji at Kingspan Stadium three days later.

The impressive looking squad features Test players from four nations including New Zealand World Cup winners Ben Franks and Andy Ellis, as well as fellow All-Blacks Seta Tamanivalu and Luke Whitelock.

They will be joined by Australian internationals Sam Carter, Luke Morahan, Taqele Naiyaravoro, Paddy Ryan and Toby Smith. Ulster supporters will have plenty to cheer for with Pienaar, Tuohy and Bowe lining out for the famous invitational side on their club’s home ground.

The Flying Fijians will be captained by Montpellier back-row Akapusi Qera and their roster also includes Olympic Sevens gold medalists Josua Tuisova, Leone Nakarawa and Vatemo Ravouvou. Tuisova, who has been starring on the wing for Toulon, is set to make his international debut at Kingspan Stadium.

There are also a number of other big names among the squad including scrum-half Nikola Matawalu, who joined Bath in 2015 following four seasons at Glasgow Warriors, and Montpellier’s try-scoring sensation Nemani Nodolo.

Barbarians Squad:

Ruan Ackermann (Lions), Sam Carter (Brumbies and Australia), Michael Fatialofa (Hurricanes), Ben Franks (London Irish and New Zealand), Reggie Goodes (Hurricanes), Martin Muller (Lions), Andrew Ready (Reds), Paddy Ryan (Waratahs and Australia), Brad Shields (Hurricanes), Toby Smith (Rebels and Australia), Kwagga Smith (Lions), Jordan Taufua (Crusaders, Dan Tuohy (Ulster and Ireland), Akker van der Merwe (Lions), Schalk van der Merwe (Montpellier), Luke Whitelock (Highlanders and New Zealand)

Clayton Blommetjies (Cheetahs), Tommy Bowe (Ulster and Ireland), Robert du Preez (Stormers), Andy Ellis (Crusaders/Kobelco and New Zealand), Matt Faddes (Highlanders), Richard Mo’unga (Crusaders), Luke Morahan (Western Force and Australia), Taqele Naiyaravoro (Waratahs/Panasonic and Australia), Melani Nanai (Blues), Ruan Pienaar (Ulster and South Africa), Nic Stirzaker (Melbourne Rebels), Seta Tamanivalu (Crusaders and New Zealand)