Sale draw with Toulouse, wins for Cardiff, Agen and UBB

Date published: October 14 2017

Sale Sharks and Toulouse played out a 20-20 draw in their Challenge Cup opener and there were wins for Bordeaux-Bègles, Cardiff Blues and Agen.

Sale Sharks 20-20 Toulouse

Sale and Toulouse could not be separated in an entertaining Pool Two encounter at the AJ Bell Stadium in Salford and sides scored two tries apiece.

Semi Kunatani gave Toulouse an early lead when he scored the opening try in the 15th minute and Sébastien Bézy added the extras to give the visitors a 7-0 lead before Faf de Klerk reduced the deficit courtesy of a 24th minute penalty.

Bezy then crossed the whitewash before Denny Solomona scored a try on the stroke of half-time which meant Toulouse led 14-10 at the break. Bryn Evans scored Sale's second try in the 50th minute which gave his side the lead for the first time.

Bezy and de Klerk traded penalties before the Springbok added a three-pointer off the tee which gave Sale a 20-17 lead by the 67th minute. Toulouse finished stronger though and a Bezy penalty five minutes before full-time secured them a share of the spoils.

The scorers:

For Sale Sharks:
Solomona, Evans
Cons: De Klerk 2
Pens: De Klerk 2

For Toulouse:
Kunatani, Bezy
Cons: Bezy 2
Pens: Bezy 2

Sale Sharks: 15 Mike Haley, 14 Denny Solomona, 13 Sam James, 12 Mark Jennings, 11 Josh Charnley, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Jono Ross (c), 7 Ben Curry, 6 Cameron Neild, 5 Andrei Ostrikov, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 Halani Aulika, 2 Rob Webber, 1 Ross Harrison
Replacements: 16 Marc Jones, 17 James Flynn, 18 WillGriff John, 19 George Nott, 20 Lawrence Pearce, 21 David Seymour, 22 Will Cliff, 23 Aaron Reed

Toulouse: 15 Maxime Médard, 14 Wandile Mjekevu, 13 Jarrod Poi, 12 Sofiane Guitoune, 11 Yoann Huget, 10 Jean-Marc Doussain, 9 Sébastien Bézy, 8 Francois Cros, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Semi Kunabuli Kunatani, 5 Piula Faasalele, 4 Florian Verhaeghe, 3 Maks Van Dyk, 2 Julien Marchand, 1 Daniel Mienie
Replacements: 16 David Roumieu, 17 Rodrigue Neti, 18 Clément Castets, 19 Gillian Galan, 20 Carl Axtens, 21 Selevasio Tolofua, 22 Romain Ntamack, 23 Lucas Tauzin

Referee: David Wilkinson (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Kieran Barry (Ireland), John Carvill (Ireland)
TMO: Olly Hodges (Ireland)

Cardiff Blues 29-19 Lyon

Cardiff Blues moved to the top of Pool Two after securing a 29-19 bonus-point win over Lyon at Cardiff Arms Park. 

Tries from George Earle, Tomos Williams in the first half and further five-pointers from Macauley Cook and Reynold Lee-Lo after half-time secured the Blues' win.

Lyon were competitive, however, especially during the second half and Virgile Bruni, Pierre-Louis Barassi and Jone Tuva scored their tries during this period.

Jarrod Evans kicked three conversions for the Blues and Steven Shingler sealed their win with a late penalty.

The scorers:

For Cardiff Blues:
Earle, Williams, Cook, Lee-Lo
Cons: Evans 3
Pen: Shingler

For Lyon:
Bruni, Barassi, Tuva
Cons: Dominguez, Pelissie

Cardiff Blues: 15 Matthew Morgan, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Rey Lee-Lo, 12 Garyn Smith, 11 Blaine Scully, 10 Jarrod Evans, 9 Tomos Williams, 8 Josh Turnbull, 7 Olly Robinson, 6 Macauley Cook, 5 Seb Davies, 4 George Earle, 3 Dillon Lewis, 2 Matthew Rees, 1 Corey Domachowski
Replacements: 16 Kristian Dacey, 17 Brad Thyer, 18 Anton Peikrishvili, 19 James Down, 20 Josh Navidi, 21 Lewis Jones, 22 Steven Shingler, 23 Aled Summerhill

Lyon: 15 Delon Armitage, 14 Timilai Rokoduru, 13 Pierre-Louis Barassi, 12 Adrien Seguret, 11 Jone Tuva, 10 Piero Dominguez, 9 Baptiste Couilloud, 8 Virgile Bruni, 7 Theophile Cotte, 6 Tanginoa Halaifonua, 5 Francois van der Merwe, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Richard Choirat, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Tornike Mataradze
Replacements: 16 Virgile Lacombe, 17 Hamza Kaabèche, 18 Guram Papidze, 19 Josh Bekhuis, 20 Felix Lambey, 21 Theo Belan, 22 Jean-Marcellin Buttin, 23 Jonathan Pelissie

Referee: Frank Murphy (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Leo Colgan (Ireland), Ken Imbusch (Ireland)

Agen 45-10 Zebre

Agen moved to the top of Pool Three after proving much too strong for Zebre in their opener at Stade Armandie.

The Top 14 outfit were full value for their win and outscored their visitors five tries to one and they led 18-3 at half-time. 

Mathieu Lamoulie finished with an 18-point haul courtesy of a brace of tries a conversion and two penalties and Paula Ngauamo, Antoine Miquel, Johann Sadie, Pierre Fouyssac and Alban Conduche scored Agen's tries.

Zebre's points came via a Johan Meyer try which Guglielmo Palazzani converted and Palazzani also slotted a penalty.

The scorers:

For Agen:
Ngauamo, Miquel, Sadie, Fouyssac, Conduche, Lamoulie 2
Cons: Lamoulie, Russell
Pens: Lamoulie 2

For Zebre:
Cons: Palazzani
Pens: Palazzani
Yellow Card: Palazzani, Meyer

Agen: 15 Clément Laporte, 14 Lucas Tolot, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Pierre Fouyssac, 11 Nicolas Metge, 10 Mathieu Lamoulie, 9 Lucas Rubio, 8 Antoine Miquel, 7 Marco Kotze, 6 Yoan Tanga, 5 Corentin Braendlin, 4 Denis Marchois, 3 Vakhtangi Akhobadze, 2 Paula Ngauamo, 1 Kamaliele Tufele
Replacements: 16 Clément Martinez, 17 Fernandez Correa, 18 Corentin Chabeaudie, 19 Christiaan Van der Merwe, 20 Jessy Jegerlhener, 21 Hugo Verdu, 22 Alban Conduche, 23 Jérémy Russell

Zebre: 15 Ciaran Gaffney, 14 Gabriele Di Giulio, 13 Matteo Pratichetti, 12 Faialaga Afamasaga, 11 Giovanbattista Venditti, 10 Serafin Bordoli, 9 Guglielmo Palazzani, 8 Derick Minnie, 7 Johan Meyer, 6 Jacopo Sarto, 5 Valerio Bernabo, 4 Leonard Krumov, 3 Eduardo Bello, 2 Luhandre Luus, 1 Andrea de Marchi
Replacements: 16 Oliviero Fabiani, 17 Andrea Lovotti, 18 Roberto Tenga, 19 David Sisi, 20 Giovanni Licata, 21 Marcello Violi, 22 Maicol Azzolini, 23 Tommaso Boni

Referee: Ian Tempest (England)
Assistant referees: Andrew Jackson (England), John Meredith (England)

Enisei-STM 17-57 Bordeaux-Bègles

Bordeaux-Bègles opened their Challenge Cup pool account with a comfortable 57-17 victory over Enisei-STM at Krasny Yar Stadium on Friday.

The French side went over for eight tries in all against their Russian opponents in the bonus-point success, with Alexandre Roumat, Peni Ravai, Cyril Cazeaux, Jean-Baptiste Dubie (2), Matthieu Jalibert, Yann Lesgourgues and Kitione Kamikamica all crossing Enisei-STM's line.

Jurijs Baranovs and Stanislav Selskiy replied for the hosts but they were no match for their Top 14 opponents, who will head home happy.

The scorers:

For Enisei-STM:
Tries: Baranovs, Selskiy
Cons: Kushnarev 2
Pen: Gaisin

For Bordeaux-Bègles:
Tries: Roumat, Ravai, Cazeaux, Dubie 2, Jalibert, Lesgourgues, Kamikamica
Cons: Jalibert 4, Schoeman 3
Pen: Jalibert

Enisei-STM: 15 Ramil Gaisin, 14 Jurijs Baranovs, 13 David Kacharava, 12 Dmitrii Gerasimov, 11 Denis Simplikevich, 10 Iurii Kushnarev, 9 Alexey Shcherban, 8 Maxim Gargalic, 7 Vitalii Orlov, 6 Andrey Temnov, 5 Viacheslav Krasylnyk, 4 Uldis Saulite, 3 Innokentiy Zykov, 2 Stanislav Selskii, 1 Andrei Polivalov  
Replacements: 16 AN Other,  17 Valery Morozov, 18 Evgenii Pronenko, 19 Anton Rudoi, 20 Aleksandr Budychenko, 21 Konstantin Uzunov, 22 Aleksei Mikhaltsov, 23 Evgeny Elgin

Bordeaux-Bègles: 15 Darly Domvo, 14 Metuisela Talebulamaijaina, 13 Jean-Baptiste Dubié, 12 Pablo Uberti, 11 Iban Etcheverry, 10 Matthieu Jalibert, 9 Gauthier Doubrere, 8 Marco Tauleigne, 7 Hugh Chalmers, 6 Alexandre Roumat, 5 Cyril Cazeaux, 4 Johan Aliouat, 3 Ravai Kovekalou, 2 Ole Avei, 1 Thierry Paiva 
Replacements: 16 Florian Dufour, 17 Jean-Baptiste Poux, 18 Lasha Tabidze, 19 Pierre Gayraud, 20 Cameron Woki, 21 Kitione Kamikamica, 22 Yann Lesgourgues, 23 Christian Schoeman

Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys (England)
Assistant referees: Adam Leal (England), Lionel Spooner (England)
TMO: Sean Brickell (Wales)