Bonus-point win for Toulouse

Date published: March 27 2016

Toulouse climbed up to fifth in the Top 14 standings after they secured a 36-3 bonus-point victory over Stade Français at home on Sunday.

A penalty try, Vincent Clerc's double and one each from Alexis Palisson and Maxime Médard saw them prevail as the Parisians were thumped.

For Stade this is their twelfth defeat of the campaign as they stay in twelfth position, fortunate that Oyonnax and Agen are well off the pace.

Toulouse led 17-3 at the interval as they capitalised on a ten-minute period that fly-half Morné Steyn was in the sin-bin, scoring fourteen points.

Steyn was carded when Stade Français were on the ropes and in truth he was one of a couple warranting a card for a cynical offence near to his try-line. Toulouse duly made the Springbok pay with their numerical advantage as a penalty try and Clerc's effort took them clear.

Steyn had given the visitors the lead on six minutes after a scrum penalty went against Toulouse. However McAlister equalised soon after.

A penalty miss apiece from Steyn and Sébastien Bézy kept it at 3-3 but then came that crucial card and with it two Toulouse seven-pointers.

Toulouse continued to grow their lead after the break when on 50 minutes full-back Médard sliced through a hole before handing on to wing Palisson, who finished well wide out. Despite the conversion being unsuccessful, Toulouse still had themselves a healthy cushion at 22-3.

With that score, one hand was on the bonus-point for the hosts and all they had to do was keep Stade Français at bay from their line. They managed to do that in style, adding another two tries of their own through Clerc and Médard to round off a resounding victory in front of their fans.

The scorers:

For Toulouse:
Tries: Penalty, Clerc 2, Palisson, Médard
Con: Bezy 4
Pen: McAlister

For Stade Français:
Pen: Steyn
Yellow: Steyn (slowing down ball – 30 mins)

Toulouse: 15 Maxime Médard, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 Florian Fritz, 12 Gael Fickou, 11 Alexis Palisson, 10 Luke McAlister, 9 Sébastien Bézy, 8 Louis Picamoles, 7 Imanol Harinordoquy, 6 Yacouba Camara, 5 Yoann Maestri, 4 Gregory Lamboley, 3 Census Johnston, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp
Replacements: 16 Christopher Tolofua, 17 Cyril Baille, 18 Joe Tekori, 19 François Cros, 20 Gillian Galan, 21 Jean-Marc Doussain, 22 Yann David, 23 Dorian Aldegheri

Stade Français: 15 Jeremy Sinzelle, 14 Julien Arias, 13 Paul Williams, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Avenisi Vasuinubu, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Clement Daguin, 8 Raphael Lakafia, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Sekou Macalou, 5 Gerhard Mostert, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Paul Alo-Emile, 2 Remy Bonfils, 1 Zurab Zhvania
Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Dany Priso, 18 Pascal Pape, 19 Paul Gabrillagues, 20 Julien Dupuy, 21 Mathieu Ugena, 22 Jonathan Danty, 23 Adrien Oleon

Referee: Thomas Charabas