Bonus-point win for Munster

Date published: October 1 2016

Munster made it four wins from their opening five games of the PRO12 season on Saturday as they saw off Zebre 49-5 at Thomond Park.

Darren Sweetnam opened the scoring and after that the floodgates opened with tries from Conor Murray, CJ Stander and Simon Zebo following shortly after.

Tyler Bleyendaal followed up each try with a conversion to make it 28-0 at the half's end.

A penalty try and tries from Stephen Archer and a second from Stander killed the game off for Munster in the second half.

Gabriele Di Giulio grabbed a consolation try for the visitors but it was too little too late as the Irish went on to win 49-5.

Munster had won all eight of their previous matches against Zebre. The Italian side's last three visits to Limerick saw them concede 16 tries whilst only scoring one.

Sweetnam went over after just two minutes to open the scoring for the Irish, Bleyendaal added the finishing touches to make it 7-0.

Murray dived through for Munster's second off the back of a lineout maul, and Bleyendaal made it 14-0 with the conversion.

Stander gathered his own charge down under the posts for Munster's third. Bleyendaal couldn't miss making it 21-0.

Zebo collected a chip from Murray to score Munster's fourth. Bleyendaal made it four from four to put Munster 28-0 in front going into half time.

Sweetnam was tackled whilst chasing a kick and Munster were awarded a penalty try early in the second half. Ian Keatley added the extras to make it 35-0.

Keatley broke through and found Archer for yet another Munster try. Keatley dissected the posts with the conversion to make it 42-0 with a quarter of an hour to play.

Zebre managed to claw one back through winger Di Giulio with ten minutes left on the clock. Carlo Canna shanked the conversion attempt.

Williams found Stander on the break for his second. Keatley added the conversion to mark over 1000 points for Munster and cap off an impressive 49-5 win at Thomond Park.

The scorers:

For Munster:
Tries: Sweetnam, Murray, Stander 2, Zebo, Penalty Try, Archer
Cons: Bleyendaal 4, Keatley 2

For Zebre:
Try: Di Giulio

Munster: 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Darren Sweetnam, 13 Keith Earls, 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Alex Wootton, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Conor Murray, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Tommy O'Donnell, 6 Billy Holland(c), 5 Darren O'Shea, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 Stephen Archer, 2 Duncan Casey, 1 Dave Kilcoyne
Replacements: 16 Niall Scannell, 17 James Cronin, 18 John Ryan, 19 Peter O'Mahony, 20 Conor Oliver, 21 Duncan Williams, 22 Ian Keatley, 23 Cian Bohane

Zebre: 15 Edoardo Padovani, 14 Gabriele Di Giulio, 13 Giulio Bisegni, 12 Tommaso Castello, 11 Giovanbattista Venditti, 10 Charles Reed, 9 William Palazzani, 8 Federico Ruzza, 7 Johan Meyer, 6 Jacopo Sarto, 5 Gideon Koegelenberg, 4 Quintin Geldenhuys(c), 3 Dario Chistolini, 2 Tommaso D'Apice, 1 Andrea Lovotti
Replacements: 16 Carlo Festuccia, 17 Bruno Postiglioni, 18 Guillermo Roan, 19 Joshua Furno, 20 Derick Minnie, 21 Carlo Engelbrecht, 22 Thomas Boni, 23 Lloyd Greeff

Referee: Dan Jones (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Simon Rees (Wales), Dermot Blake (Ireland)