Bonus-point win for Munster

Date published: January 24 2016

Munster concluded their disappointing European campaign with a 28-5 bonus-point win over Treviso on Sunday.

Back-to-back tries from Ronan O'Mahony and Dave Kilcoyne bolstered by Ian Keatley's kicking form saw the men in red dominate the opening 20 minutes.

Treviso's forwards managed to keep the Italians in the match though with Marco Lazzaroni eventually driving through for a try to make it 5-14 on the stroke of half-time.

Conor Murray and O'Mahony kept the scoreboard ticking over with two tries in the second half. Keatley maintained his 100 percent record with the conversions to see the men in red win the match 5-28.

Within the first five minutes of play O'Mahony poached a try off the back of a driving maul for his first points in European rugby. Keatley swept home the conversion to cap off a great start for the visitors at 0-7. 

Kilcoyne powered his way over the line for another Munster try a quarter of an hour in. Keatley never looked like missing from the tee as the Irish doubled their lead to 0-14.

Billy Holland saw yellow for a no-ball tackle and Treviso made the extra man count as they mauled their over the line from the subsequent penalty.

It was Lazzaroni who scored the try and after missing his first two attempts at goal, Ambrosini handed kicking responsibilities to Hayward who also failed to pick up any points.

After a dominant start to the match Munster would have been disappointed to go into the break just 5-14 up.

Early in the second half Murray received the ball off the top of a line out and managed to dance his way through a switched off Treviso defence to touch down for a a terrific solo effort under the posts. Keatley maintained his kicking record with the conversion to nudge the score up to 5-21.

Jack O'Donoghue then broke through and found an inch perfect pass for O'Mahony to run through for his second try of the match. Keatley dissected the posts yet again with the conversion to seal the win for Munster.

The scorers:

For Treviso:
Tries: Lazzaroni

For Stade Français:
Tries: O'Mahony 2, Kilcoyne, Murray
Cons: Keatley 4
Yellow Card: Holland

Treviso: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Andrea Pratichetti, 13 Enrico Bacchin, 12 Alberto Sgarbi, 11 Simone Ragusi, 10 James Ambrosini, 9 Alberto Lucchese, 8 Abraham Steyn, 7 Alessandro Zanni, 6 Marco Lazzaroni, 5 Jean-François Montauriol, 4 Marco Fuser, 3 Simone Ferrari, 2 Ornel Gega, 1 Matteo Zanusso
Replacements: 16 Davide Giazzon, 17 Andrea De Marchi, 18 Salesi Manu, 19 Tom Palmer, 20 Marco Barbini, 21 Tommaso Iannone, 22 Samuel Christie, 23 Luke McLean

Munster: 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Keith Earls, 13 Francis Saili, 12 Rory Scannell, 11 Ronan O'Mahony, 10 Ian Keatley, 9 Conor Murray, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Tommy O’Donnell, 6 Billy Holland, 5 Donnacha Ryan, 4 Dave Foley, 3 John Ryan, 2 Mike Sherry, 1 Dave Kilcoyne
Replacements: 16 Niall Scannell, 17 James Cronin, 18 Mario Sagario, 19 Robin Copeland, 20 Mark Chisholm, 21 Jack O'Donoghue, 22 Tomas O'Leary, 23 Gerhard van den Heever

Referee: Alexandre Ruiz (France)
Assistant Referees: Cédric Marchat (France), Tual Trainini (France)
TMO: Philippe Bonhoure (France)