Bonus-point win for Auckland

Date published: August 27 2014

Auckland bounced back from their heavy loss to Canterbury by claiming a 35-7 bonus-point victory against Manawatu at FMG Stadium.

Auckland bounced back from their big loss to Canterbury by claiming a 35-7 bonus-point victory over Manawatu.

The visitors, who had gone down 48-9 to the champions last week, responded in perfect fashion as they climbed to fourth on the table.

Auckland were 20-0 ahead at the break thanks to tries from Gareth Anscombe and George Moala, with the number ten also kicking over ten points.

It was more of the same after the interval when Francis Saili went over from 30 metres out, but they would have to wait until the 74th minute for the all-important fourth as Peter Saili crossed.

Manawatu replacement prop Chris Eves claimed a late consolation, which Otere Black converted.

The scorers:

For Manawatu:
Try: Eves
Con: Black

For Auckland:
Tries: Anscombe, Moala, F Saili, P Saili
Con: Anscombe 2, Hickey
Pen: Anscombe 3

Manawatu: 15 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 14 Newton Tudreu, 13 Jason Emery, 12 Hamish Northcroft, 11 Willie Paia'aua, 10 Jade Te Rure, 9 Papa Wharewera, 8 Antonio Kirikiri, 7 Callum Gibbins (c), 6 Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, 5 Nick Crosswell, 4 Keepa Mewett, 3 Ma'afu Fia, 2 Rob Foreman, 1 Hubert Buydens.
Replacements: 16 Nick Grogan, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Fraser Stone, 19 James Oliver, 20 Kayne Hammington, 21 Otere Black, 22 Jaxon Tagavaitau,

Auckland: 15 Charles Piutau, 14 Ben Lam, 13 Francis Saili, 12 Hadleigh Parkes, 11 George Moala, 10 Gareth Anscombe, 9 Junior Poluleuligaga, 8 Peter Saili, 7 Sean Polwart, 6 Joe Edwards, 5 Jack Whetton, 4 Liaki Moli,3 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 2 Tom McCartney, 1 Sam Prattley.
Replacements: 16 Gafatasi Su'a, 17 Nick Barrett, 18 William Lloyd, 19 Blake Gibson, 20 Wayne Ngaluafe, 21 Vince Aso, 22 Simon Hickey.

Referee: Mike Fraser