Bonus-point Japan down historic Chile in exciting Rugby World Cup clash

Dylan Coetzee
Japan players celebrate a try against Chile in the Rugby World Cup.

Japan players celebrate a try against Chile in the Rugby World Cup.

Japan powered to a 42-12 win over Chile in an electric Rugby World Cup Pool D clash in Toulouse on Sunday.

The game was filled with running from start to finish with the sharp-shooting boot of fly-half Rikiya Matsuda and six tries enough to secure the Brave Blossoms their first victory of this year’s tournament.

Click here for scorers

It was a dream start for Chile in their first World Cup game as Rodrigo Fernandez crossed early on for their maiden try which Santiago Videla converted.

Japan did not sit around as they responded in the eighth minute through Amato Fakatava, who crashed over for a converted try.

A back-and-forth period loaded with running and a yellow card for Chilean prop Matias Dittus did not see any change in the scoreline until Jone Naikabula crossed for a try on the half-hour mark that Matsuda had no problems converting.

Japan had the final say of the first half to widen the deficit as Fakatava powered over to complete his brace which was converted from the touchline.

The second period began in the same fashion as the first with an early Chile try as Alfonso Escobar scored in the 48th minute with the conversion missed. Typical of the clash, Japan responded quickly through veteran Michael Leitch who scored under the posts on 53 minutes. Matsuda made no mistake from the tee again.

The scoreline held for a decent period as Chile worked hard to try to get within striking distance but it was not to be as Ryoto Nakamura crossed for a converted try in the 71st minute which effectively secured the result.

Japan had the final say of the game as Nakamura secured his brace right at the end of play with Matsuda making no mistake from the tee.

The teams

Japan: 15 Semisi Masirewa, 14 Kotaro Matsushima, 13 Dylan Riley, 12 Ryoto Nakamura, 11 Jone Naikabula, 10 Rikiya Matsuda, 9 Yutaka Nagare, 8 Kazuki Himeno (c), 7 Kanji Shimokawa, 6 Michael Leitch, 5 Amato Fakatava, 4 Jack Cornelsen, 3 Jiwon Gu, 2 Atsushi Sakate, 1 Keita Inagaki
Replacements: 16 Shota Horie, 17 Craig Millar, 18 Asaeli Ai Valu, 19 Warner Dearns, 20 Shota Fukui, 21 Naoto Saito, 22 Tomoki Osada, 23 Lomano Lemeki

Chile: 15 Inaki Ayarza, 14 Santiago Videla, 13 Domingo Saavedra, 12 Matias Garafulic, 11 Franco Velarde, 10 Rodrigo Fernandez, 9 Marcelo Torrealba, 8 Alfonso Escobar, 7 Raimundo Martínez, 6 Martín Sigren (c), 5 Javier Eissmann, 4 Clemente Saavedra, 3 Matias Dittus, 2 Diego Escobar, 1 Javier Carrasco
Replacements: 16 Augusto Bohme, 17 Salvador Lues, 18 Inaki Gurruchaga, 19 Pablo Huete, 20 Santiago Pedrero, 21 Ignacio Silva, 22 Lukas Carvallo, 23 José Ignacio Larenas

Referee: Nic Berry (RA)
Assistant Referees: Karl Dickson (RFU), Andrea Piardi (FIR)
TMO: Tom Foley (RFU)

READ MORE: England v Argentina: Five takeaways from Rugby World Cup clash as experienced heads rise to the occasion