Blues dash Edinburgh’s Champions Cup hopes

Date published: May 7 2016

Cardiff Blues dashed Edinburgh's faint hopes of qualifying for the Champions Cup when they beat them 21-17 at Murrayfield on Saturday.

The result moved Cardiff up to seventh as they leapfrogged their opponents, who end the season in ninth.

Both teams finish the campaign with a 50/50 win-to-loss ratios, but Edinburgh’'s bonus points have seen them end the season higher up the table.

Blues trailed by 10 points at one stage in the afternoon, but two late tries from Cam Dolan and Garyn Smith provided a sweet turnaround for the visitors.

Hamish Watson and Matt Scott have Edinburgh an early lead, with Tom Brown restoring the 10-point advantage not long after Rey Lee-Lo put Cardiff on the scoreboard.

With their European Cup hopes put to the sword last weekend, Watson’'s early try in the corner followed by Scott’'s farewell touchdown gave the hosts something to cheer.

Lee-Lo went over for the visitors with their first real venture up the Edinburgh half, slaloming his way through a few half-hearted challenges to the whitewash.

Gareth Anscombe converted, but Edinburgh responded through Tom Brown, who got on the end of a grubber kick from Matt Scott.

However, the second half provided a turnaround, with Dolan getting on the end of a good pass from Ellis Jenkins.

Anscombe’'s conversion brought his team to within three points, with the rest of the gap made up by Garyn Smith following Dan Fish’s breakway.

Smith picked the ball off of his own laces before going over. as Anscombe’'s conversion completed the turnaround for the Blues.

The scorers:

For Edinburgh:
Watson, Scott, Brown
Cons: Tovey

For Cardiff Blues:
Lee-Lo, Dolan, Smith
Cons: Anscombe 3

Edinburgh: 15 Dougie Fife, 14 Damien Hoyland, 13 Matt Scott, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Tom Brown, 10 Jason Tovey, 9 Sean Kennedy, 8 Cornell du Preez, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 Nasi Manu, 5 Ben Toolis, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 WP Nel, 2 Stuart McInally, 1 Rory Sutherland
Replacements: 16 Neil Cochrane, 17 Allan Dell, 18 John Andress, 19 Alex Toolis, 20 Magnus Bradbury, 21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 22 Chris Dean, 23 Will Helu

Cardiff Blues: 15 Dan Fish, 14 Aled Summerhill, 13 Garyn Smith, 12 Rey Lee-Lo, 11 Tom James, 10 Gareth Anscombe, 9 Lloyd Williams, 8 Josh Navidi, 7 Ellis Jenkins, 6 Josh Turnbull, 5 James Down, 4 Cam Dolan, 3 Taufa'ao Filise, 2 Matthew Rees, 1 Gethin Jenkins (c)
Replacements: 16 Kristian Dacey, 17 Brad Thyer, 18 Scott Andrews, 19 Lou Reed, 20 Macauley Cook, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Jarrod Evans, 23 Gavin Evans

Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Mike Adamson (Scotland), Keith Allan (Scotland)
TMO: Charles Samson (Scotland)