Blue Bulls fight off valiant Kings

Date published: August 19 2016

A bewildered Blue Bulls were able to overcome a valiant Kings attack to win the game 49-35 in Pretoria.

The Bulls were able to get back in the game after being two tries down in the first ten minutes to get a bonus-point win. The Bulls five-point win sees them jump up the log to go to third place but will have to wait to see if their gains come into fruition when the Lions play the Griquas on Saturday.

The Kings scored two tries in the first ten minutes through Mike Willemse and then another by Burton Klaasen and were able to get a bonus-point for their efforts after scoring four tries. The bonus point means they finally get their first point on the overall table.  

The visitors based their attack on a incredibly strong scrum which seemed to leave the Bulls shell-shocked after the home side were wheeled around the park. 

The Blue Bulls will thank their prolific number 10 for their win as Tiaan Schoeman produced a mercurial performance after scoring his sides' first try and then having a brilliant day on the tee as well after getting seven kicks on the day.

Jamba Ulengo was also in fine form. The big speedster showed plenty of pace and intelligence to be in the right place at the right time to support his team mates and ended up scoring two tries.  

The Kings made a big statement , as even though they lost the game the men from Port Elizabeth showed they can mix with the best.

The scorers:

Blue Bulls:
Tries: Schoeman, Ulengo 2, Kirsten, Basson, Odendaal, Stander
Conversions: Schoeman 7

EP Kings:
Tries: Willemse, Klaasen, Tromp, Soyizwapi, Bezuidenhout
Conversions: Marais 2
Penalties: Marais 2

The Teams:

Blue Bulls: 15 Duncan Matthews, 14 Jamba Ulengo, 13 Burger Odendaal, 12 an Kriel, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Ruan Steenkamp, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 RG Snyman, 3 Entienne Swanepoel, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Lizo Gqoboka
Replacements: 16 Edgar Maruthlulle, 17 Pierre Schoeman, 18 Jacobie Adriaanse, 19 Irne Herbst, 20 Hanro Liebenberg, 21 Andre Warner, 22 Joshua Stander

Kings: 15 Johan Tromp, 14 Siviwe Soyizwapi, 13 Burton Klaasen, 12 Waylon Murray, 11 Sampie Mastriet, 10 Kobus Marais, 9 Ricky Schroeder (c), 8 Christiaan de Bruin, 7 Sebastian Ferreira, 6 Vince Jobo, 5 David Antonites, 4 Tazz Fuzani, 3 Vukile Sofisa, 2 Mike Willemse, 1 Justin Forwood 
Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Barend Potgieter, 18 Ettienne Oosthuizen, 19 Luke van der Smit, 20 Jacques Fick, 21 Minenhle Mthethwa, 22 Lungelo Goza