Blitzbokke continue hot streak in Sydney

Date published: February 5 2017

South Africa clinched their third title of this season’s Sevens World Series after defeating England in the final in Sydney 29-14.

As a result Neil Powell’s side extend their already impressive lead at the top of the standings, following triumphs in Dubai and Wellington.

The Blitzboks, competing in their fourth consecutive final on the world series, beat rivals England in what was a repeat of the Cape Town final last December to cement their position at the top of the world series standings.

Their three wins from four is the best series start for a side since New Zealand in 2008.

Player of the Final Seabelo Senatla, who now leaves the Blitzboks to join Super Rugby, said: “It is incredible. The guys are just magicians, hats off to them, I am just the finisher of the moves.

“It’s bittersweet, we play here with family so it is a pity to be leaving the family but it’s a new challenge that I’m excited for.”

South Africa head coach Neil Powell said: “I think it was great for the guys to come out and beat England, after losing to them in the pool stages (on day one). Last season we played in four finals and we only won one. So it’s special.

“I’m delighted with the back-to-back wins in Wellington and Sydney.”

Earlier, New Zealand beat Australia to claim bronze while Russia claimed the Challenge Trophy in Sydney after beating France, 26-0.



England 14-29 South Africa

Bronze medal

New Zealand 29-14 Australia

Fifth Place

Fiji 35-12 USA


South Africa 26-12 Australia
England 12-5 New Zealand

Fifth Place semi-finals

USA 19-10 Wales
Argentina 21-38 Fiji


England 24-7 Argentina
New Zealand 24-21 Fiji
USA 10-21 South Africa
Wales 0-26 Australia

Challenge Trophy


Russia 26-0 France

13th Place play-off

Kenya 5-10 Canada


Japan 12-19 France
Russia 17-12 Samoa

13th Place semi-finals

Canada 33-20 Papua New Guinea
Kenya 19-14 Scotland


Kenya 0-22 Russia
Scotland 14-21 Samoa
Canada 7-19 Japan
France 17-0 Papua New Guinea

Standings after four rounds:

1 South Africa 85
2 England 68
3 Fiji 64
4 New Zealand 56
5 Scotland 45
6 Australia 40
7 Wales 40
8 USA 35
9 Argentina 35
10 France 35
11 Kenya 27
12 Canada 24
13 Samoa 16
14 Russia 16
15 Japan 8
16 Uganda 4
17 Papua New Guinea 2