Big guns return for Chiefs

Date published: February 18 2015

The Chiefs head back to Taranaki for their third match in nine months when they host the Brumbies at Yarrow Stadium in New Plymouth.

The match is set to be an exciting battle as the Chiefs welcome one former and three current All Blacks back to the fold to take on a Brumbies side riding high from their impressive opening round win over the Reds.

Liam Messam will captain the side from the blindside, Aaron Cruden starts at fly-half with Super Rugby centurion Hosea Gear making his Chiefs debut on the left wing while World Rugby Player of the Year Brodie Retallick will start on the bench.

Other changes to the starting XV see prop Jamie Mackintosh line up alongside Hika Elliot and Siate Tokolahi in the front row, while in the backs, Tom Marshall and Tim Nanai-Williams are unavailable due to injury, so with Gear starting on the left wing, James Lowe moves to fullback with Bryce Heem retained on the right wing.

In the reserves, a Chiefs debut is in the offing for hooker Quentin MacDonald, who returns to Super Rugby after a season away, and ITM Cup Player of the Year Seta Tamanivalu is set to make his Chiefs and Investec Super Rugby debut in front of his home crowd. They are joined on the bench by props Pauliasi Manu, Ben Tameifuna and last week’s stand out performer Damian McKenzie.

“There is a huge amount of competition for places and we are excited to have our returning All Blacks back in the mix,” said Chiefs coach Dave Rennie.

“Between our team and the Brumbies there are plenty of world class players on display and with the styles both teams like to play it will be a real positive game.”

Chiefs: 15 James Lowe, 14 Bryce Heem, 13 Charlie Ngatai, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Maama Vaipulu, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Messam (captain), 5 Michael Fitzgerald, 4 Matt Symons, 3 Siate Tokolahi, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Jamie Mackintosh.
Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Pauliasi Manu, 18 Ben Tameifuna, 19 Brodie Retallick, 20 Tevita Koloamatangi, 21 Augustine Pulu, 22 Damian McKenzie, 23 Seta Tamanivalu

Date: Friday, February 20
Venue: Yarrow Stadium, New Plymouth
Kickoff: 19:35 local (06:35 GMT)
Referee: Steve Walsh (Australia)
Assistant Referees: Shane McDermott (New Zealand), Paul Williams (New Zealand)
TMO: Glen Newman (New Zealand)