Barrett named Player of the Year

Date published: November 14 2016

New Zealand fly-half Beauden Barrett has been crowned World Rugby Men’s Player of the Year at an awards ceremony in London.

Fly-half Barrett becomes the fifth All Black in a row to receive the prestigious award, following in the footsteps of Daniel Carter (2012 and 2015), Kieran Read (2013) and Brodie Retallick (2014).

He received the award ahead of five other nominees – team-mate Dane Coles, England trio of number eight Billy Vunipola, second-row Maro Itoje and fly-half Owen Farrell and Ireland number eight Jamie Heaslip.

“It means so much and it is certainly not something I expected to be awarded, or even to have my name thrown in the mix with the talented players we saw nominated. It’s a by-product of a couple of great teams I have been a part of this year, the Hurricanes and the All Blacks. I have to thank the coaches and my team-mates around me because without them I wouldn’t be here.”

England lock Maro Itoje was named Breakthrough Player of the Year ahead of Anton Leinert-Brown and Ardie Savea of New Zealand, while Seabelo Senatla was named Men’s Sevens Player of the Year.Barrett completed a hat-trick for the All Blacks, with Steve Hansen winning Coach of the Year ahead of Eddie Jones (England) and Ben Ryan (Fiji Sevens) and Team of the Year going to New Zealand.

England number eight Sarah Hunter took home the Women’s Player of the Year award, with Australia’s Charlotte Caslick winning the Women’s Sevens Player of the Year after her efforts at the Olympics in Rio.

Try of the Year went to Ireland’s Jamie Heaslip while Alhambra Nievas and Rasta Rasivhenge jointly won Referee of the Year 2016.

World Rugby Awards 2016 winners

Men’s Player of the Year: Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)
Women’s Player of the Year: Sarah Hunter (England)
Team of the Year: New Zealand
Coach of the Year: Steve Hansen (New Zealand)
Men’s Sevens Player of the Year: Seabelo Senatla (South Africa)
Women’s Sevens Player of the Year: Charlotte Caslick (Australia)
IRPA Try of the Year: Jamie Heaslip (Ireland)
Referee of the Year: Alhambra Nievas (Spain) and Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)
Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service: Syd Millar (Ireland)
Award for Character: Rugby Opens Borders
IRPA Special Merit Award: Jean de Villiers (South Africa)