Barbarians floor Fiji

Date published: November 11 2016

The Barbarians scored four unanswered tries in the first half for a comfortable 40-7 victory over Fiji in Belfast on Friday night.

This game was won in the first half in an entertaining game despite being played in heavy rain.

The BaaBaas were impressive, especially in the first 40 where they managed to give the ball some air as if it were a cool, dry evening. Robert du Preez had a blinder at fly-half, slotting all five his conversions while Akker van der Merwe celebrated a brace in the first-half not normally associated with hookers.

It was Van der Merwe who opened the scoring from a driving maul after just three minutes. Matt Faddes got on the scoresheet less than five minutes later after a charge down and quick hands saw the wing go over to double the score.

Van der Merwe added his second in the 18th minute after taking a pass from Andy Ellis from close range to extend the lead to 21-0. Fiji looked disjointed and devoid of ideas, seldomly managing to bother the Barbarians defence.

Ellis himself added the fourth try, diving over after spotting a gap to give the BaaBaas a commanding lead going into the break.

After playing the ball out wide inside the Barabarians 22 Waisea Nayacalevu managed to open Fiji’s account, the unlikely frame of Nemani Nadolo slotting the touchline conversion to reduce the deficit to 21.

Luke Morahan all but sealed the result five minutes from time but the BaaBaas weren’t finished as Richard Mo’unga squeezed in another five-pointer to finish the game with some excitement.

The scorers:

For Barbarians:
Van der Merwe 2, Faddes, Ellis, Mo’unga, Morahan
Cons: Du Preez 5

For Fiji:
Con: Nadolo

Barbarians: 15 Melani Nanai (Blues), 14 Matt Faddes (Highlanders), 13 Tommy Bowe (Ulster & Ireland), 12 Richard Buckman (Highlanders/Panasonic), 11 Taqele Naiyaravoro (Waratahs/Panasonic & Australia), 10 Robert du Preez (Stormers), 9 Andy Ellis (Crusaders/Kobelco & New Zealand, captain), 8 Luke Whitelock (Highlanders & New Zealand), 7 Jordan Taufua (Crusaders), 6 Brad Shields (Hurricanes), 5 Sam Carter (Brumbies & Australia), 4 Michael Fatialofa (Hurricanes), 3 Ben Franks (London Irish & New Zealand), 2 Akker van der Merwe (Lions), 1 Reggie Goodes (Hurricanes)
Replacements: 16 Andrew Ready (Reds), 17 Toby Smith (Rebels & Australia), 18 Paddy Ryan (Waratahs & Australia), 19 Martin Muller (Lions), 20 Ruan Ackermann (Lions), 21 Ruan Pienaar (Ulster & South Africa), 22 Richard Mo’unga (Crusaders), 23 Luke Morahan (Force & Australia)

Fiji: 15 Benito Masilevu, 14 Waisea Nayacalevu, 13 Asaeli Tikorotuma, 12 Albert Vulivuli, 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 Ben Volavola, 9 Serupepeli Vularika, 8 Akapusi Qera, 7 Mosese Voka, 6 Naulia Dawai, 5 Dominiko Waqaniburoto, 4 Api Ratuniyarawa, 3 Manasa Saulo, 2 Jale Sassen, 1 Campese Ma’afu
Replacements: 16 Joeli Veitayaki, 17 Sunia Koto, 18 Leroy Atalifo, 19 Nemia Soqeta, 20 Eremasi Radrodro, 21 Nemia Kenatale, 22 Metuisela Talebula, 23 Vatemo Ravouvou

Referee: Nick Briant (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: George Clancy (Ireland), David Wilkinson (Ireland)
TMO: Neil Paterson (Scotland)