Argentina: Michael Cheika sticks with same matchday squad for Wales Test

David Skippers
Michael Cheika Argentina coach v England ANS 2022 - PA.jpg

Argentina head coach Michael Cheika has named an unchanged matchday squad for their Autumn Nations Series international against Wales at the Principality Stadium in Cardiff on Saturday.

After last weekend’s momentous victory against England – their first triumph in the fixture on English soil in 16 years – Cheika has rewarded the players who were on duty in that encounter by naming an identical starting line-up and replacements bench.

In the backline, Juan Cruz Mallia is at full-back with Emiliano Boffelli, who was Los Pumas‘ hero in the win over England courtesy of a 25-point contribution, and Mateo Carreras starting on the wing.

Elsewhere, Matias Moroni and Jeronimo de la Fuente retain their positions as the two centres, while Santiago Carreras and Gonzalo Bertranou are the half-back paring.

Julián Montoya leads again

Experienced hooker Julián Montoya continues to captain the side and is joined in the front-row by Francisco Gómez Kodela and Thomas Gallo, who are the starting props, while Matías Alemanno and Tomás Lavanini pack down in the second-row again.

Meanwhile, in the back-row, Marcos Kremer and Juan Martín González continue on the side of the scrum as the two flankers with Pablo Matera rounding off the pack at number eight.

On the replacements bench, Cheika has once again opted for a five-three, forwards and backs split with Ignacio Ruiz, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Eduardo Bello, Lucas Paulos and Facundo Isa covering the pack, while Eliseo Morales, Tomás Albornoz and Matías Orlando are reserve backline players with scrum-half Morales set to make his Test debut if he takes to the field.

Argentina: 15 Juan Cruz Mallia, 14 Mateo Carreras, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Santiago Carreras, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Pablo Matera, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Juan Martín González, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Matías Alemanno, 3 Francisco Gómez Kodela, 2 Julián Montoya (c), 1 Thomas Gallo
Replacements: 16 Ignacio Ruiz, 17 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 18 Eduardo Bello, 19 Lucas Paulos, 20 Facundo Isa, 21 Eliseo Morales, 22 Tomás Albornoz, 23 Matías Orlando

Date: Saturday, November 12
Venue: Principality Stadium, Cardiff
Kick-off: 17:30 GMT
Referee: Ben O’Keeffe (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Angus Gardner (Australia), Andrea Piardi (Italy)
TMO: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa)

READ MORE: Autumn Nations Series: Five storylines to watch this weekend including England desperate to bounce back