Argentina: Michael Cheika names 29-man squad as Lebanon fixture clash with England game looms large

Adam Kyriacou
Michael Cheika at Lebanon press conference

Argentina head coach Michael Cheika has selected a 29-man squad for a training camp ahead of next month’s Autumn Nations Series matches.

Cheika, who is also coaching Lebanon in the Rugby League World Cup, is balancing that role with leading Los Pumas in their end-of-year internationals.

With the ongoing World Cup being held in England, the camp will take place at Sale Sharks’ training base which allows Cheika to manage both positions.

Julian Montoya leads Argentina

Leicester hooker Julian Montoya retains the captaincy after skippering the team to an impressive first victory over the All Blacks on New Zealand soil.

There are nine other Premiership stars named as fellow hooker Agustin Creevy is joined by London Irish team-mates Lucio Cinti and Juan Martin Gonzalez.

Newcastle Falcons trio Matias Moroni, Matias Orlando and Santiago Carreras are also selected while former Wasps prop Rodrigo Martinez makes the squad.

Five players who compete in the United Rugby Championship, including Emiliano Boffelli (Edinburgh), are named while there’s 12 players from the Top 14.

As mentioned, Cheika’s men will utilise Sale Sharks’ facilities as they look to put in solid preparations ahead of their opening match against England.

Balancing act for coach Cheika

Cheika will have a fine balancing act over the coming weeks as Lebanon are on the verge of progressing to the quarter-finals of this year’s tournament.

That likely last-eight showdown would clash with the England fixture over the November 4-6 weekend before Argentina then face Wales (November 12) at the Principality Stadium and Scotland (November 19) at Murrayfield to conclude their year-end campaign.

Argentina: Tomas Albornoz, Matias Alemanno, Eduardo Bello, Gonzalo Bertranou, Emiliano Boffelli, Martin Bogado, Ignacio Calles, Mateo Carreras, Santiago Carreras, Lucio Cinti, Santiago Cordero, Agustin Creevy, Tomas Cubelli, Jeronimo De La Fuente, Bautista Delguy, Thomas Gallo, Juan Martin Gonzalez, Rodrigo Martinez, Juan Imhoff, Facundo Isa, Marcos Kremer, Tomas Lavanini, Juan Cruz Mallia, Pablo Matera, Julian Montoya (c), Matias Moroni, Matias Orlando, Lucas Paulos, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro

READ MORE: England: Owen Farrell, Jonny May withdraw from squad ahead of end-of-year Tests due to injury