Anglo-Welsh Cup wrap: Friday

Date published: November 12 2016

There were wins for Harlequins, Bristol and Scarlets in the Anglo-Welsh Cup on Friday night.

Scarlets 44-21 Bath

Bath scored all three their tries in the first half for a commanding 21-9 lead at the break, but Scarlets launched a great comeback in the second half to clinch a 44-21 victory.

Max Lahiff was the unlikely source of two tries in the space of five minutes before Jeff Williams added a third five minutes before the break for a 21-9 lead, the only reply from Scarlets coming from the boot of Dan Jones.

The hosts scored all five their tries in the second half, all of them converted, to give Scarlets a stunning win in front of their home crowd.

The scorers:

For Scarlets:
Macleod, T Phillips, E Phillips, Condy 2
Cons: Jones 4, McBryde
Pens: Jones 3 

For Bath:
Lahiff 2, Williams
Cons: Priestland 3 

Scarlets: 15 Tom Williams, 14 Richard Smith, 13 Ioan Nicholas, 12 Gareth Owen, 11 Ryan Conbeer, 10 Dan Jones, 9 Aled Davies, 8 Morgan Allen, 7 Josh Macleod, 6 Jack Condy, 5 Rynier Bernardo, 4 Tadhg Beirne, 3 Peter Edwards, 2 Emyr Phillips (c), 1 Dylan Evans,
Replacements: 16 Taylor Davies, 17 Luke Garrett, 18 Nicky Thomas, 19 Josh Helps, 20 Tom Phillips, 21 Declan Smith, 22 Jack Maynard, 23 Billy McBryde

Bath: 15 Tom Homer, 14 Jeff Williams, 13 Matt Banahan, 12 Dan Bowden, 11 Jack Wilson, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Darren Allinson, 8 Paul Grant, 7 Guy Mercer (c), 6 Zach Mercer, 5 Elliott Stooke, 4 Matt Garvey, 3 Max Lahiff, 2 Tom Dunn, 1 Beno Obano
Replacements: 16 Michael van Vuuren, 17 Nathan Catt, 18 Henry Thomas, 19 Alex Humfrey, 20 Josh Bayliss, 21 Will Homer, 22 Adam Hastings, 23 Rory Jennings

Referee: Christophe Ridley (England)
Assistant Referees: Neil Jones (Wales), Richard Hughes (Wales)

Ospreys 12-15 Harlequins

The hosts scored as early as the second minute when Tom O’Flaherty went over for the first five-pointer. Quins hit back through George Naoupu before Dafydd Howells added a second to give Scarlets a 12-5 lead going into the second half. A converted Charlie Matthews try and a penalty by Tim Swiel gave Quins the win in the second half as Scarlets failed to add points.

The scorers:

For Ospreys:
O'Flaherty, Howells
Con: Price

For Harlequins:
Naoupu, Matthews
Con: Swiel
Pen: Swiel

Ospreys: 15 Dafydd Howells, 14 Tom Grabham, 13 Joe Thomas, 12 Jonathan Spratt, 11 Tom O’Flaherty, 10 Luke Price, 9 Matthew Aubrey, 8 Dan Baker, 7 Joe Tomalin-Reeves, 6 Rob McCusker (c), 5 Rory Thornton, 4 James Ratti, 3 Rhodri Jones, 2 Scott Otten, 1 Gareth Thomas
Replacements: 16 Hugh Gustafson, 17 Rowan Jenkins, 18 Dan Suter, 19 Rhys Jones, 20 Sam Underhill, 21 Phil Jones, 22 Kieran Williams, 23 Jay Baker

Harlequins: 15 Aaron Morris, 14 Charlie Walker, 13 Winston Stanley, 12 James Lang, 11 Henry Cheeseman, 10 Ruaridh Jackson, 9 Luc Jones, 8 George Naoupu, 7 Dave Ward (c), 6 James Chisholm,, 5 Charlie Matthews, 4 Stan South, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Joe Gray, 1 Owen Evans
Replacements: 16 Charlie Piper, 17 Dan Murphy, 18 Matt Shields, 19 Archie White, 20 Luke Wallace, 21 Karl Dickson, 22 Tim Swiel, 23 Gabriel Ibitoye

Referee: Mike Hudson (England)
Assistant Referees: Chris Williams (Wales), Neil Perkins (Wales)

Bristol 26-11 Sale Sharks

Tries from Jason Woordward and Rhodri Williams and a penalty from Billy Searle gave Bristol a 13-3 lead at half time after Sale could only respond through a penalty from Dan Mugford.

Halani Aulika brought the visitors back into the game when he scored just after the break, but Jack Tovey restored Bristol's lead five minutes later with a try of his own. 

Searle and Adrian Jarvis added a penalty each in the second 40 to seal the game with Sale's only response coming from a Tom Arscott penalty.

The scorers:

For Bristol:
Woodward, Williams, Tovey
Con: Searle 
Pens: Searle 2, Jarvis 

For Sale Sharks:
Pens: Mugford, Arscott

Bristol: 15 Jack Wallace, 14 Tom Varndell, 13 Jason Woodward, 12 Will Hurrell, 11 Jack Tovey, 10 Billy Searle, 9 Rhodri Williams, 8 Jordan Crane (c), 7 Nick Fenton-Wells, 6 Mitch Eadie, 5 Mark Sorenson, 4 Ian Evans, 3 Jamal Ford-Robinson, 2 Rob Hawkins 1 Kyle Traynor,
Replacements: 16 Marc Jones, 17 Soane Tonga'uiha, 18 James Hall, 19 James Phillips, 20 Nick Koster, 21 Will Cliff, 21 Adrian Jarvis, 23 Luke Arscott

Sale Sharks: 15 Tom Arscott, 14 Charlie Ingall, 13 Sam Bedlow, 12 Johnny Leota, 11 Nick Scott, 10 Dan Mugford, 9 James Mitchell, 8 Laurence Pearce, 7 Tom Curry, 6 Ben Curry, 5 Lou Reed, 4 George Nott, 3 Halani Aulika, 2 Rob Webber, 1 James Flynn
Replacements: 16 Curtis Langdon, 17 Jake Pope, 18 Ciaran Parker, 19 TJ Ioane, 20 David Seymour, 21 Peter Stringer, 22 Sam Tuitupou, 23 Josh Charnley

Referee: Greg Macdonald (England)
Assistant Referees: Andrew Pearce (England), John Meredith (England)
TMO: Keith Lewis (England)