All Blacks humiliate Springboks to equal Test record

Date published: October 8 2016

New Zealand equalled the record of 17 consecutive Test wins with a 57-15 victory over the Springboks at Kings Park on Saturday.

This was as one-sided a game as you will see at Test level.

It was a record Test defeat for South Africa and New Zealand's fourth win in a row over the Springboks as they finished the Rugby Championship unbeaten with six bonus-point victories.

It was a phenomenal second-half performance by the All Blacks who scored 45 points in the second 40 and conceded only six.

For the Boks it doesn't get much worse than this. Adriaan Strauss will want to forget his final Test on home soil as soon as possible.

They say statistics don't lie and there certainly is nowhere for the Springboks to hide.

No team can hope to win a Test against any team, let alone the All Blacks, when you miss 33 tackles (85 out of 118), have to contend with 31 percent possession while playing more than 70 percent of the game in your own half.

It was a comprehensive display by the world champions against a Bok side who, like a week ago against Australia, offered absolutely nothing on attack despite making 14 turnovers.

South Africa were forced to defend the whole game and whether they wanted to or not it was never going to be sustainable for 80 minutes.

The start was encouraging as the Boks showed plenty of energy and drive which was rewared with two Morné Steyn penalties. Steyn again kept South Africa in the game and they were extremely lucky to only be trailing 12-9 at half time.

New Zealand were far from their best in the first 20 minutes and made some uncharacteristic mistakes as a few offloads didn't go to hand while they were also guilty of too many handling errors.

Despite not being very clinical early on the All Blacks dominated the ball and played all their rugby in the Springboks half.

They were relentless on the attack and tested the Bok defence constantly which was too passive as they failed to keep the All Black ball carriers behind the advantage line.

Israel Dagg opened the scoring for the All Blacks after sustained pressure on the hosts' try line. It all started when Steyn failed to find touch from inside his 22.

Three missed tackles allowed New Zealand back in Springbok territory as Dagg jogged over unapposed despite some desperate Bok defence.

Another Steyn penalty gave the hosts a 9-5 lead before TJ Perenara scored a controversial try to win back the lead. The scrum-half was brought down just before the Bok line and seemed to have lost the ball forward before regaining control and grounding it over the line.

After numerous replays the try was awarded which gave the All Blacks the lead for the first time in the match which they never surrendered. 

New Zealand ran 758 metres in this Test compared to the 174 the Boks managed to make and they were rewarded with nine tries, seven in the second half, as Israel Dagg, Perenara and Beauden Barrett scored a brace each. Codie Taylor, Ben Smith and Liam Squire also got on the score sheet.

What is clear for the Boks is that their gameplan simply isn't working. It's also difficult to see Chean Roux stay on as defence coach.

Allister Coetzee is not known as an attack-minded coach and will need to bring in some outside help for the end-of-year tour.

The scorers:

For South Africa
Pens: Steyn 5
Yellow Card: De Jager

For New Zealand
Dagg 2, Perenara 2, Barrett 2, Taylor, Smith, Squire
Cons: Barrett 4, Sopoaga 2
Yellow Card: Taylor

South Africa: 15 Patrick Lambie, 14 Francois Hougaard, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Teboho Mohoje, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Stephen Kitshoff, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Lood de Jager, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Jaco Kriel, 22 Lionel Mapoe, 23 Willie le Roux

New Zealand: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Israel Dagg, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Waisake Naholo, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Matt Todd, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody
Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Liam Squire, 20 Ardie Savea, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Lima Sopoaga, 23 George Moala

Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)
Assistant Referees: Johnny Lacey (Ireland), George Clancy (Ireland)
TMO: Jim Yuille (Scotland)

by Kobus Pretorius