Maori All Blacks: TJ Perenara takes over from Brad Weber as captain for second Ireland game

David Skippers

Maori All Blacks head coach Clayton McMillan has made six changes to his starting line-up for Tuesday’s game against Ireland in Wellington, with experienced scrum-half TJ Perenara named as skipper.

Perenara takes over the captaincy from fellow All Blacks number nine Brad Weber, who led the Maori All Blacks in their 32-17 victory over Andy Farrell’s charges when the teams met in their first encounter in Hamilton two weeks ago.

Meanwhile, full-back Josh Moorby, who impressed for the Hurricanes during Super Rugby Pacific, is named for his debut. Moorby takes over from Zarn Sullivan as one of four backline alterations.

He is joined in the back three by Shaun Stevenson and Connor Garden-Bachop, who retain their places from the Hamilton encounter, but there is a new centre combination with Bailyn Sullivan and Alex Nankivell coming in to replace Billy Proctor and Rameka Poihipi respectively.

Perenara is joined the half-backs by fellow All Black Josh Ioane, who will once again wear the number 10 jersey against Ireland.

Two changes in the forwards

In the forwards, Cameron Suafoa takes over from Reed Prinsep on the blindside flank while Cullen Grace (number eight) and Bill Harmon (openside flank) retain their positions in the back-row.

Isaia Walker-Leawere continues in the engine room and, in the only other change to the starting XV, Manaaki Selby-Rickit replaces Josh Dickson as the other lock, while Tyrel Lomax and Ollie Norris are the starting props with Kurt Eklund continuing at hooker.

Highlanders second-row Max Hicks and home town boy Caleb Delany (loose forward) are in line for debuts off the replacements bench.

Maori All Blacks: 15 Josh Moorby, 14 Shaun Stevenson, 13 Bailyn Sullivan, 12 Alex Nankivell, 11 Connor Garden-Bachop, 10 Josh Ioane, 9 TJ Perenara (c), 8 Cullen Grace, 7 Billy Harmon, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 4 Manaaki Selby-Rickit, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Kurt Eklund, 1 Ollie Norris
Replacements: 16 Leni Apisai, 17 Tamaiti Williams, 18 Marcel Renata, 19 Max Hicks, 20 Caleb Delany, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Ruben Love, 23 Billy Proctor

Date: Tuesday, July 12
Venue: Sky Stadium, Wellington
Kick-off: 19:05 local (08:05 BST, 07:05 GMT)
Referee: Karl Dickson (England)
Assistant Referees: Christophe Ridley (England), Jordan Way (Australia)
TMO: James Leckie (Australia)

READ MORE: Ian Foster: All Blacks lacked on attack and failed to adapt during the second Test