Kieran Read to miss Argentina Test


The All Blacks squad to take on the Pumas and Springboks has been announced, with captain Kieran Read sitting out the trip to Argentina.

Loose forward Vaea Fifita will travel with the All Blacks to Argentina in his place and return to New Zealand following the Test against the Pumas.

All Blacks head coach Steve Hansen said: “We always had a plan to manage Kieran’s long-haul travel this year, following his return to rugby after back surgery, so he’ll miss the trip to Argentina and re-join the squad in South Africa for the Test against the Springboks.”

Midfielder Ngani Laumape, who was called in as injury cover earlier in the Rugby Championship, will also stay in New Zealand. Dane Coles, Joe Moody, Brodie Retallick and Liam Squire meanwhile will continue their injury rehabilitation programmes in New Zealand.

All Blacks squad for Argentina and South Africa is:

Forwards: Liam Coltman, Nathan Harris, Codie Taylor, Owen Franks, Tim Perry, Angus Ta’avao, Karl Tu’inukuafe, Ofa Tuungafasi, Scott Barrett, Patrick Tuipulotu, Samuel Whitelock, Sam Cane, Vaea Fifita, Shannon Frizell, Jackson Hemopo, Kieran Read (South Africa only), Ardie Savea, Luke Whitelock

Backs: TJ Perenara, Aaron Smith, Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, Beauden Barrett, Damian McKenzie, Richie Mo’unga, Ryan Crotty, Jack Goodhue, Anton Lienert-Brown, Sonny Bill Williams, Jordie Barrett, Rieko Ioane, Nehe Milner-Skudder, Waisake Naholo, Ben Smith