Justin Tipuric skippers Wales in Wayne Pivac’s opener

Date published: November 28 2019

Wales head coach Wayne Pivac has announced his first side to take on the Barbarians in Cardiff on Saturday, with Justin Tipuric leading them out.

Tipuric captains the team as Wales face the famous Baa-Baas for the first time since 2012 with Scarlets wing Johnny McNicholl making his first appearance for Wales.

The forward line-up is made up of eight players who featured in the 2019 Rugby World Cup with Tipuric named in a back-row alongside Aaron Shingler and Aaron Wainwright. Jake Ball and Adam Beard feature in the second-row with Wyn Jones, Ken Owens and Dillon Lewis named in the front-row.

Cardiff Blues half-backs Tomos Williams and Jarrod Evans are named together with Hadleigh Parkes and Owen Watkin partnering in midfield.

Uncapped McNicholl will line-up in a back three alongside Josh Adams and Leigh Halfpenny.

“This week has been hugely exciting and hugely important for us as a group,” said Pivac.

“It has been an opportunity for us as a new squad and management to get together and to set the scene for what the future holds.

“There has been quite a lot of learnings for the squad this week, looking at what we are trying to do and us providing some clarity but we have also stressed the enjoyment factor of being together for the first time and the excitement of not only this weekend but the future.

“This weekend itself is really exciting. The Barbarians are what rugby is all about. It is the fun element of the game and supporters should be looking forward to some good old-fashioned running rugby and it should be an entertaining afternoon.

“It is fantastic to have a double header at the Stadium with Wales Women and it should be a great showcase of rugby.”

Elliot Dee, Rob Evans and Leon Brown provide the front-row cover on the bench with Seb Davies and Ollie Griffiths completing the forward contingent. Gareth Davies, Sam Davies and Owen Lane provide the backline cover.

Wales: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Johnny McNicholl, 13 Owen Watkin, 12 Hadleigh Parkes, 11 Josh Adams, 10 Jarrod Evans, 9 Tomos Williams, 8 Aaron Wainwright, 7 Justin Tipuric (c), 6 Aaron Shingler, 5 Adam Beard, 4 Jake Ball, 3 Dillon Lewis, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Wyn Jones
Replacements: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Rob Evans, 18 Leon Brown, 19 Seb Davies, 20 Ollie Griffiths, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Sam Davies, 23 Owen Lane

Date: Saturday, November 30
Venue: Principality Stadium, Cardiff
Kick-off: 14:45 GMT
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant referees: Dan Jones (Wales), Gwyn Morris (Wales)
Television match official: Ian Davies (Wales)