Pietersen captains new-look Sharks

Date published: July 13 2016 - Editor

The Sharks have made six changes to their starting line-up to take on the Sunwolves in Durban on Friday.

In the pack, Thomas du Toit replaces captain Tendai Mtawarira at loosehead prop as the Sharks coaching staff feel the skipper needs a a complete break after a gruelling couple of months in Super Rugby and for the Springboks. 

Mtawarira drops completely out of the squad while veteran Springbok JP Pietersen will lead the side from outside centre.

Chiliboy Ralepelle will start at hooker as Franco Marais also gets a full on break. Stephan Lewies will move to the bench as Ruan Botha takes his place and Tera Mthembu replaces Jean-Luc du Preez at blindside flank.

In the back-line, Odwa Ndungane will start on the right wing while Sibusiso Sithole drops completely out of the squad and Stefan Ungerer will don the nine jersey as Michael Claasen provides cover from the bench. 

Sharks: 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 JP Pietersen (c), 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Garth April, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Tera Mtembu, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Thomas du Toit 
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Stefan Lewies, 20 Jean Deysel, 21 Michael Claassens, 22 Heimar Williams, 23 Curwin Bosch

Date: Friday, July 15
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick off: 19:00 local (17:00 GMT)
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa), Archie Sehlako (South Africa)
TMO: Marius Jonker (South Africa)