Ireland ring the changes

Date published: June 14 2018

Johnny Sexton’s return to the starting XV is one of eight alterations made by Ireland coach Joe Schmidt for Saturday’s Test against Australia in Melbourne.

Veteran prop Cian Healy is set to win his 80th cap on Saturday as he returns to the starting XV. He is named in a new look front-row alongside Niall Scannell and Tadhg Furlong.

In the second-row Devin Toner starts alongside James Ryan.

Dan Leavy is the final change in the pack as he is named at openside with Peter O’Mahony and CJ Stander completing the back-row.

Star fly-half Sexton comes back into the side alongside Conor Murray while Robbie Henshaw moves to inside centre with Garry Ringrose starting at thirteen.

Rob Kearney is at full-back with Andrew Conway on the right wing and Keith Earls on the left.

In the reserves, Tadhg Beirne is set to make his Ireland debut from the bench which also includes Rob Herring, Jack McGrath, Jordi Murphy, John Cooney, Joey Carbery and Jordan Larmour.

Ireland: 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Andrew Conway, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Dan Leavy, 6 Peter O’Mahony (c), 5 James Ryan, 4 Devin Toner, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Niall Scannell, 1 Cian Healy
Replacements: 16 Rob Herring, 17 Jack McGrath, 18 Andrew Porter, 19 Tadhg Beirne, 20 Jordi Murphy, 21 John Cooney, 22 Joey Carbery, 23 Jordan Larmour

Date: Saturday, June 16
Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne
Kick-off: 20:00 local (11:00 BST, 10:00 GMT)
Referee: Paul Williams (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Pascal Gaüzère (France), Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa)
Television match official: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)

[playbuzz-item item=”a2728628-3de3-4860-9c74-8c3869ce90ca” info=”false” shares=”false” wp-pb-id=”786688″]