Ireland pick Ross Byrne at 10 for England clash

Date published: November 18 2020 - Adam Kyriacou

Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has selected Ross Byrne at fly-half for their second Autumn Nations Cup group fixture, against England, at Twickenham.

Byrne, who replaces the injured Johnny Sexton, is joined by Jamison Gibson-Park in the half-backs as he retains the scrum-half jersey this weekend.

In the centre, Connacht centre Bundee Aki comes in for the injured Robbie Henshaw with Chris Farrell lining out in the number 13 shirt on Saturday.

Hugo Keenan continues at full-back with Leinster teammate James Lowe, who starred in the win over Wales last Friday, and Keith Earls on the wings.

107th captain

Second-row James Ryan will be the 107th player to captain Ireland when he leads out the team, in the absence of fly-half Sexton.

Ryan is again partnered in the second-row by last weekโ€™s try scorer Quinn Roux. They will pack down behind the unchanged front-row of Cian Healy, Ronan Kelleher and Andrew Porter.

CJ Stander returns to the starting XV at blindside with Peter Oโ€™Mahony moving to seven and Caelan Doris packing down at eight.

The forward replacements are Rob Herring, Ed Byrne, Finlay Bealham, Iain Henderson and Will Connors while Conor Murray, Billy Burns and Jacob Stockdale provide cover for the backs.

Ireland: 15 Hugo Keenan, 14 Keith Earls, 13 Chris Farrell, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 James Lowe, 10 Ross Byrne, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Caelan Doris, 7 Peter Oโ€™Mahony, 6 CJ Stander, 5 James Ryan (c), 4 Quinn Roux, 3 Andrew Porter, 2 Ronan Kelleher, 1 Cian Healy
Replacements: 16 Rob Herring, 17 Ed Byrne, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Iain Henderson, 20 Will Connors, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Billy Burns, 23 Jacob Stockdale

Date: Saturday, November 21
Venue: Twickenham
Kick-off: 15:00 GMT
Referee: Pascal Gauzere (FFR)
Assistant Referees: Mathieu Raynal (FFR), Alex Ruiz (FFR)
TMO: Nigel Owens (WRU)