Ireland announce side for Scotland showdown

Date published: September 20 2019

Rory Best will captain Ireland in their Rugby World Cup opener against Scotland, with eight of the starting XV making their tournament bow. 

Appearing at his fourth global showpiece event the Ireland hooker will win his 121st cap, his 12th at a Rugby World Cup.

Best is joined in the front-row by Cian Healy, playing in his third Rugby World Cup, and Tadhg Furlong, featuring at his second tournament.

James Ryan will make his Rugby World Cup debut alongside Iain Henderson who won four caps at England 2015.

There are two tournament debutants in the back-row with Josh van der Flier at openside and CJ Stander at number eight. Peter O’Mahony, winning his 60th cap, played in New Zealand 2011 and England 2015.

Only two of the backline have played at the Rugby World Cup before, scrum-half Conor Murray and fly-half Jonathan Sexton, who featured at the 2011 and 2015 tournaments.

Garry Ringrose and Bundee Aki in the centre make their tournament debut with Jordan Larmour, Andrew Conway and Jacob Stockdale also making their World Cup bow.

The eight players named in the replacements are all featuring at their first Rugby World Cup. Niall Scannell, David Kilcoyne and Andrew Porter cover the front-row with Tadhg Beirne and Jack Conan the other forward substitutes.

Luke McGrath, Jack Carty and Chris Farrell are the replacement backs.

Ireland: 15 Jordan Larmour, 14 Andrew Conway, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Jacob Stockdale, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Peter O’Mahony, 5 James Ryan, 4 Iain Henderson, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Rory Best (c), 1 Cian Healy
Replacements: 16 Niall Scannell, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 Andrew Porter, 19 Tadhg Beirne, 20 Jack Conan, 21 Luke McGrath, 22 Jack Carty, 23 Chris Farrell

Date: Sunday, September 22
Venue: International Stadium, Yokohama
Kick-off: 16:45 local (08:45 BST, 07:45 GMT)
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant Referees: Pascal Gaüzère (France), Alexandre Ruiz (France)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)