France name Olympic Sevens squads

Date published: July 13 2016

France international winger Virimi Vakatawa has been included in the Mens squad for this year's Olympics in Rio.

Sevens coach Frédéric Pomarel has opted to exclude a number of XV players who had been training with the squad, with Rémy Grosso, Romain Marital, Marvin O'Connor and Fulgence Ouedraogo missing out.

Sofiane Guitoune however is included as one of two reserves, including Jean-Baptiste Mazoue.

France will be captained by the vastly experienced Terry Bouhraoua and the 12-man group includes Julien Candelon and Steeve Barry.

France Mens Sevens squad: Jérémy Aicardi, Steeve Barry, Terry Bouhraoua, Julien Candelon, Damien Cler, Manoël Dall'Igna, Vincent Inigo, Pierre-Gilles Lakafia, Jonathan Laugel, Stephen Parez, Virimi Vakatawa, Sacha Valleau.

Reserves: Sofiane Guitoune, Jean-Baptiste Mazoue

Fanny Horta meanwhile will captain the Womens squad in Rio, with coach David Courteix opting for experience.

Marjorie Mayans, Shannon Izar and Camille Grassineau are all included while Jessy Tremouliere and Christelle Le Duff are both names as reserves.

The France Womens side have been draw in Pool B alongside New Zealand, Spain and Kenya on August 6-8.

France Womens Sevens squad: Majorie Mayans, Audrey Amiel, Rose Thomas, Caroline Ladagnous, Fanny Horta, Jade Le Pesq, Pauline Biscarat, Lina Guerin, Shannon Izar, Elodie Guiglion, Jennifer Troncy, Camille Grassineau

Reserves: Jessy Tremouliere, Christelle Le Duff