England: Saracens number eight Billy Vunipola recalled to squad for tour to Australia

Date published: June 20 2022 - David Skippers

England head coach Eddie Jones has announced his 35-man squad for their tour to Australia, with the big news being the return of experienced number eight Billy Vunipola.

The Red Rose and the Wallabies will clash in Perth on July 2, Brisbane on July 9 and Sydney on July 16.

Eight uncapped players included

Jones has also included Fraser Dingwall, Tommy Freeman, Guy Porter, Patrick Schickerling, Jack van Poortvliet and Jack Walker, who are uncapped at Test level, along with Henry Arundell and Will Joseph who are included as apprentice players.

Apart from Vunipola, Jones has picked 11 other players from Leicester Tigers and Saracens, who participated in the Premiership final at Twickenham on Saturday.

England last visited Australia in 2016 when they claimed a 3-0 series victory over the Wallabies and 10 players from that tour have been named in the current squad. They are: Danny Care, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Owen Farrell, Ellis Genge, Jamie George, Maro Itoje, Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola, Jack Nowell and Courtney Lawes.

Jones said: “Though we have nine players unavailable due to injury, we have picked a very strong squad capable of winning the series. This squad is a real mix of young, talented players and some very experienced, senior players and we’re looking forward to bring the group together.

“This tour will be a great experience for the group and a crucial part of the team’s work towards the Rugby World Cup in 2023. We will continue to develop the base of the squad and how we want to play.

“We’ve put a lot of work into preparation for the tour over the past few weeks but now the hard work really begins when we finally get the squad on the plane and to Australia.”

England squad

Forwards: Ollie Chessum, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Tom Curry, Charlie Ewels, Ellis Genge, Jamie George, Joe Heyes, Jonny Hill, Nick Isiekwe, Maro Itoje, Courtney Lawes, Lewis Ludlam, Bevan Rodd, Patrick Schickerling, Will Stuart, Sam Underhill, Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola, Jack Walker, Jack Willis

Backs: Henry Arundell, Danny Care, Joe Cokanasiga, Fraser Dingwall, Owen Farrell, Tommy Freeman, George Furbank, Will Joseph, Joe Marchant, Jonny May, Jack Nowell, Guy Porter, Harry Randall, Jack van Poortvliet, Marcus Smith, Freddie Steward

READ MORE: England: Eddie Jones ‘pleased with intent’ despite big loss against Barbarians