England: Danny Care returns to the starting line-up as Ollie Chessum gets his first Test start

Dylan Coetzee

Scrum-half Danny Care returns to the England starting line-up after being preferred to Jack van Poortvliet for Saturday’s series decider against Australia in Sydney.

There are no other changes in the backline with playmaker Marcus Smith pairing up with Care, making it a Harlequins half-back duo, whilst Owen Farrell and Guy Porter maintain their midfield partnership after a solid showing last week.

Elsewhere, full-back Freddie Steward links up with wings Jack Nowell and Tommy Freeman in the same back three as last week to complete the backline.

There is no change in the front-row as the robust Ellis Genge combines with Jamie George and Will Stuart in a tested combination.

First Test start

Ollie Chessum gets his first Test start in a second-row pairing with Jonny Hill, who was a menace for the Wallabies last time out.

Courtney Lawes captains the side from the blindside flank, with Lewis Ludlam earning a start on the other side of the scrum and Billy Vunipola once again packing down at number eight.

On the bench, hooker Luke Cowan-Dickie and props Mako Vunipola and Joe Heyes make up the front-row replacements, while Nick Isiekwe and Jack Willis are the remaining forward options.

Scrum-half Van Poortvliet was unlucky to lose his starting spot after a good showing last weekend but is named alongside Will Joseph and Henry Arundell as backline cover.

Heading into the decider

England head coach Eddie Jones is excited to see his young team in action for the series decider.

“We’ve had a squad of 36 this tour who have competed hard and we’re really proud of their efforts,” he said.

“We go into this Test with a strong squad of 23. It’s a young, inexperienced but together group who have developed well throughout this series.

“We want to play with purpose and energy to win the series and an historic Test match at the Sydney Cricket Ground.”

England: 15 Freddie Steward, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Guy Porter, 12 Owen Farrell, 11 Tommy Freeman, 10 Marcus Smith, 9 Danny Care, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Lewis Ludlam, 6 Courtney Lawes (c), 5 Jonny Hill, 4 Ollie Chessum, 3 Will Stuart, 2 Jamie George, 1 Ellis Genge
Replacements: 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Joe Heyes, 19 Nick Isiekwe, 20 Jack Willis, 21 Jack van Poortlviet, 22 Will Joseph, 23 Henry Arundell

Date: Saturday, July 16
Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground
Kick-off: 20:00 local (11:00 BST, 10:00 GMT)
Referee: Paul Williams (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Andrew Brace (Ireland), James Doleman (New Zealand)
TMO: Chris Hart (New Zealand)

READ MORE: Australia: 50 up for Nic White as Suliasi Vunivalu named on the bench


Australia v England preview

Planet Rugby previews the series deciding third Test between Australia and England at the Sydney Cricket Ground.