Eddie Jones picks 21 uncapped players in England squad

Date published: June 10 2021

Eddie Jones has named a 34-player training squad as England begin preparations for their summer series.

The squad will meet up at The Lensbury on Monday, June 14 for a five-day training camp.

With 12 English players involved in the British & Irish Lions squad and the Premiership semi-finalists: Bristol Bears, Exeter Chiefs, Harlequins and Sale Sharks unavailable for selection, Jones has named 21 uncapped players.

Updated squad to reconvene on June 20

An updated squad will reconvene on Sunday, June 20, ahead of the England A fixture against Scotland A at Mattioli Woods Welford Road, Leicester (Sunday, June 27). Premiership finalists will not be available for selection for this squad.

Following the final, Jones will further update his squad for England’s two Tests at Twickenham Stadium in July – USA on Sunday, July 4, and Canada on Saturday, July 10.

“This is the first squad of three and we’ll include players from the other clubs where appropriate, when they become available,” said Jones.

“We’ve also given some of our senior players the chance to get some important rest and recovery time after back-to-back seasons, and with no proper pre-season.

“For this group it’s a chance to come into the England environment and really show what they can do. We expect them to be enthusiastic, full of energy and we want them to know there is no limit to their horizon.

“There is a lot of talent in this squad but the challenge for them is to turn talent into performance. We’re really looking forward to working with this group of young players and see where we can take them. They have the opportunity to take on the world.”

England squad for 2021 summer series

Forwards: Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons), Callum Chick (Newcastle Falcons), Trevor Davison (Newcastle Falcons), Charlie Ewels (Bath), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers), Paul Hill (Northampton Saints), Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors), Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints), Lewis Ludlow (Gloucester), George Martin (Leicester Tigers), Chunya Munga (London Irish), Beno Obano (Bath), Miles Reid (Bath), Sean Robinson (Newcastle Falcons), Jack Singleton (Gloucester), Sam Underhill (Bath), Harry Wells (Leicester Tigers), Tom Willis (Wasps)

Backs: Josh Bassett (Wasps), Joe Cokanasiga (Bath), Tom de Glanville (Bath), Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints), Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish), Dan Kelly (Leicester Tigers), Ollie Lawrence (Worcester Warriors), Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints), Max Ojomoh (Bath), Tom Parton (London Irish), Adam Radwan (Newcastle Falcons), Dan Robson (Wasps), Ben Spencer (Bath), Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers), Jacob Umaga (Wasps)