Dubai Sevens Wrap: Day One

Date published: November 30 2018

Fiji, New Zealand and Australia finished the opening day of the men’s competition unbeaten and are joined in the Cup quarter-finals by defending Dubai and Sevens series champions South Africa as pool winners.

The Blitzboks will take on England in the first Cup quarter-final at 11:00 local time (GMT+4) before New Zealand face Scotland and Australia tackle Argentina. Fiji, 2015 winners in Dubai, will then meet USA in the last quarter-final.

The Pacific Islanders comfortably defeated France and Kenya, while they edged past Scotland 21-19 for their third victory on day one.

New Zealand and Australia also dominated their respective pools, securing three wins apiece, but it was a tougher task for the defending champions who made it through despite succumbing to Argentina.

Day One results:

United States 29-0 Spain
New Zealand 28-7 Wales
Kenya 14-35 Scotland
Fiji 39-0 France
Argentina 19-21 Samoa
South Africa 31-0 Zimbabwe
England 26-12 Canada
Australia 43-0 Japan
United States 33-12 Wales
New Zealand 28-17 Spain
Kenya 17-21 France
Fiji 21-19 Scotland
Argentina 22-19 Zimbabwe
South Africa 19-12 Samoa
England 31-7 Japan
Australia 31-19 Canada
Spain 35-7 Wales
New Zealand 24-7 United States
Scotland 14-14 France
Fiji 43-12 Kenya
Samoa 17-15 Zimbabwe
South Africa 12-17 Argentina
Canada 27-7 Japan
Australia 22-19 England