Byrne considers appeal

Editor

Lee Byrne is considering his next move after being hit with a ban that will rule him out of the Six Nations clash against England.

Wales star Lee Byrne is considering his next move after being hit with a ban that will rule him out of the Six Nations clash against England at Twickenham next Saturday.

Byrne has remained with the Wales squad at their rural training retreat in the Vale of Glamorgan. He has until Monday afternoon to lodge any appeal.

A two-week suspension was imposed on the Ospreys full-back following his brief appearance as an illegal 16th player during the Welsh region's Heineken Cup victory over Leicester last weekend.

Byrne admitted a misconduct charge lodged by European Rugby Cup disciplinary officer Roger O'Connor, as did the Ospreys, who were fined 25,000 euros (approximately £22,000).

With Byrne out – subject to any successful appeal – Wales coach Gatland faces little option other than to retain James Hook, his full-back throughout November, in the position.

Hook, it is thought, had been identified for a role in the centre alongside his fellow Lion Jamie Roberts.

Byrne will be eligible to play in Wales' second Six Nations game against Scotland in Cardiff on February 13.

“Lee Byrne is reviewing the decision of an independent disciplinary committee to ban him from playing for two weeks,” said the Welsh Rugby Union.

“The player will remain with the Wales squad at the National Centre of Excellence in the Vale Resort and is taking advice on a possible appeal.”