Barbarians: Hadleigh Parkes captains squad against Spain as they look to follow up England triumph

Date published: June 21 2022 - Adam Kyriacou

The Barbarians have announced their squad that will face Spain on Saturday as they look to back up their impressive win over England.

The team is set to assemble in Asturias ahead of the clash at Estadio El Molinon in Gijon, with kick-off scheduled for 21:00 local time (20:00 BST).

With last week’s coach Fabien Galthié stepping aside, John Mulvihill returns as Barbarians head coach having led them against Australia in 2017.

Eight nationalities named

His squad includes eight nationalities with a blend of talent from England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, New Zealand, South Africa, Samoa and Tonga.

Wales centre Hadleigh Parkes captains the side and is joined by Irish lock Devin Toner, England flanker Tom Wood and Wales hooker Scott Baldwin.

There’s also All Black prop Charlie Faumuina, Samoa duo Tim Nanai-Williams and Joe Tekori, who has represented the club on six separate occasions.

“We are very much looking forward to this week as we prepare to face Spain next Saturday night. The club is buzzing after a wonderful victory over England on Sunday and this new squad, coached by John, are excited to take up the reigns and embody the Barbarians’ ethos and playing style: spirit, passion, courage and flair, united by lifelong friendship,” said President of Barbarian F.C. John Spencer.

The game will be Wood’s, Toner’s and Tekori’s last on the professional stage while cricketer Ian Botham’s nephew and Liam Botham’s son James Botham is included alongside Galthié’s son, Mathis.

Barbarians squad to face Spain

Forwards: Ed Byrne (Ireland, Leinster), Scott Baldwin (Wales, Ospreys), Charlie Faumuina (New Zealand, Toulouse), Devin Toner (Ireland, Leinster), Steve Mafi (Tonga, Oyonnax), Rob Harley (Scotland, Glasgow), James Botham (Wales, Cardiff), Abraham Papali’i (Connacht), Kirby Myhill (Wales, Cardiff), Wiehahn Herbst (Sharks), Scott Andrews (Wales, Cardiff), Joe Tekori (Samoa, Toulouse), Dan Baker (Wales, Dragons), Tom Wood (England, Northampton Saints)

Backs: Sebastian Bézy (France, Clermont), Tim Nanai-Williams (Samoa, Toulouse), Seabelo Senatla (Stormers), Hadleigh Parkes (c) (Wales, Panasonic Wild Knights), Rey Lee-Lo (Samoa, Cardiff), Adam Byrne (Ireland, Leinster), Rhyno Smith (Benetton), Mathis Galthié (Colomiers), Ahsee Tuala (Samoa, Northampton Saints)

READ MORE: Barbarians: Five takeaways from Twickenham as ‘toothless’ England crushed in fitting tribute to Phil Bennett