Alessandro Zanni set for swansong as Benetton host Zebre

Date published: August 20 2020 - David Skippers

The PRO14 action is back this weekend and an Italian derby awaits us on Friday night when Benetton and Zebre resume hostilities in Treviso.

Benetton head coach Kieran Crowley and his technical staff have named their matchday squad to take on their arch rivals in what promises to be a tightly contested encounter.

In the forwards, Ivan Nemer and Filippo Alongi are the starting props and they pack down alongside hooker Tomas Baravalle. Alessandro Zanni lines up in the engine room, in his last appearance before hanging up his boots, and Federico Ruzza joins him there.

The pack is completed by flankers Michele Lamaro and captain Alberto Sgarbi while Braam Steyn starts at number eight.

Amongst the backs, the experienced Jayden Hayward starts at full-back while Leonardo Sarto and Luca Sperandio are the two wings.

In midfield, Luca Morisi starts at inside centre and Joaquin Riera joins him in the number 13 jersey while young fly-half Paolo Garbisi is set to make his official Benetton debut and he forms a halfback partnership with Dewaldt Duvenage.

Meanwhile, Giulio Bisegni will captain Zebre the team from the outside centre position and he is joined in midfield by Tommaso Boni while Michelangelo Biondelli starts at full-back alongside Mattia Bellini and Jamie Elliott, who are the two wings.

Carlo Canna starts at fly-half and Marcello Violi is his scrum-half while, in the forwards, Giovanni Licata packs down at number eight with Johan Meyer and Maxime Mbandà the two flankers.

Elsewhere, the experienced duo of Leonard Krumov and David Sisi will start in the second-row while Luca Bigi will wear the number two jersey and Eduardo Bello and Daniele Rimpelli are the starting props.

The teams:

Benetton: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Luca Sperandio, 13 Joaquin Riera, 12 Luca Morisi, 11 Leonardo Sarto, 10 Paolo Garbisi, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Braam Steyn, 7 Michele Lamaro, 6 Alberto Sgarbi (c), 5 Federico Ruzza, 4 Alessandro Zanni, 3 Filippo Alongi, 2 Tomas Baravalle, 1 Ivan Nemer
Replacements: 16 Gianmarco Lucchesi, 17 Cherif Traore, 18 Simone Ferrari, 19 Marco Lazzaroni, 20 Manuel Zuliani, 21 Charly Trussardi, 22 Ian Keatley, 23 Marco Zanon

Zebre: 15 Michelangelo Biondelli, 14 Mattia Bellini, 13 Giulio Bisegni (c), 12 Tommaso Boni, 11 Jamie Elliott, 10 Carlo Canna, 9 Marcello Violi, 8 Giovanni Licata, 7 Johan Meyer, 6 Maxime Mbandà, 5 Leonard Krumov, 4 David Sisi, 3 Eduardo Bello, 2 Luca Bigi, 1 Daniele Rimpelli
Replacements: 16 Massimo Ceciliani, 17 Danilo Fischetti, 18 Joshua Zilocchi, 19 Cristian Stoian, 20 Jimmy Tuivati, 21 Guglielmo Palazzani, 22 Antonio Rizzi, 23 Federico Mori

Date: Friday, August 21
Venue: Stadio Monigo, Treviso
Kick-off: 20:00 local (19:00 BST, 18:00 GMT)
Referee: Andrea Piardi
Assistant referees: Gianluca Gnecchi, Manuel Bottino
TMO: Marius Mitrea