13 Jaguares in Argentina XV to face New Zealand

Date published: July 18 2019

Argentina have named 13 Jaguares in their starting XV for their opening Rugby Championship clash with New Zealand in Buenos Aires on Saturday.

Only tighthead prop Juan Figallo and fly-half Nicolás Sánchez are the starters who play for clubs other than the Super Rugby finalists.

Sánchez forms a half-back combination with Tomás Cubelli while Jerónimo de la Fuente and Matías Orlando once again combine in midfield.

The back three sees an all-Jaguares trio line up as Ramiro Moyano and Matías Moroni are the wings with Emiliano Boffelli at full-back.

Up front Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro and Agustín Creevy join Figallo in the front-row while Guido Petti and Tomás Lavanini are the lock duo.

Finally the in-form Pablo Matera continues alongside club-mates Marcos Kremer and Javier Ortega Desio as the Pumas look for their first win over New Zealand this weekend.

Argentina: 15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 Matías Moroni, 13 Matías Orlando, 12 Jerónimo de la Fuente, 11 Ramiro Moyano, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Tomás Cubelli, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Agustín Creevy, 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro
Replacements: 16 Julián Montoya, 17 Mayco Vivas, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Tomás Lezana, 21 Felipe Ezcurra, 22 Joaquín Díaz Bonilla, 23 Joaquín Tuculet

Date: Saturday, July 20
Venue: Jose Amalfitani Stadium, Buenos Aires
Kick-off: 15:05 local (19:05 BST, 18:05 GMT)
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant Referees: Andrew Brace (Ireland), Alexandre Ruiz (France)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)